Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Although I loved this recipe the folks at work felt the rum was way too strong. It's a matter of preference and not for the faint of heart or for kids since there is definitely a kick with all of the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCFORD70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My family's favorite holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Made this cake for my neighbors birthday and she absolutely loved it! I used Captain Morgan Private Stock, so glad I did. It actually tasted better the next day since the rum had more time to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Love it every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denna Slaughter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used the suggestions here. I used 1/2 cup coconut oil for the oil. I used Pillsberry yellow cake mix which said pudding added and also used the vanilla pudding. I used Malibu spiced rum with coconut liquor. There was no a strong alcohol taste which I liked. I added a quarter cup of coconut to the walnuts on the bottom of the cake and I folded in about 3/4 cup of coconut to the cake mixture. It only took 45 minutes to cook. I did what someone else suggestion. I let it cool in the bundt pan. I make the mixture for the sauce. I poked holes in the top of the cake, poured in half the mixture in the bottom of the bundt pan and then, put the cake back in the pan. I poked holes in the bottom of the cake and poured the remaining mixture on the bottom and around the sides and let it sit overnight. I left it in the pan while we traveled several hours the next day. This made if very easy to travel with. It was my son's 21st birthday and he requested a rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My preference is to substitute the vegetable oil with coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Kirkland
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Best bunt cake I've had in ages. The buttered rum glaze makes this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy and yummy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
The cake was very moist and nice flavor. I used the cake mix with pudding already in it. Next time I will use more rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Awesome, followed the directions exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Holmes Nemec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States