Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great rum cake made it multiple times always had many compliments had some who wanted me to make them some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obelix58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this cake today, WOW, a real keeper. I used Appleton Estates Rum, and loved it, wouldn't use anything else. I did add cherries to the top with the walnuts just a different look I was after. I also poked holes in the bottom and poured gently and slowly over about 10 minutes the sauce into the bottom if the cake, then inverted the cake onto a plate and poured the sauce over the top. I did keep some aside so I could add it to the cut slices when served. I WILL make this cake at Christmas time and give away as presents, a true keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
OMG it is the best. I used pecans instead of walnuts only because I prefer the taste and I do that with all recipes that call for walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Joanisse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I liked the recipe because my mom used to make this for me when I was younger but I think the recipe could of turned out better if I had remembered to poke holes in the cake for the glaze to run through. It still turned out good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Why do people here always use 'cake mix'and 'pudding mix', not everyone can get these things. REAL ingredients please folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I mix all the cake ingredients together but add just a touch more rum to it, then on the glaze, when I add the rum last, I always add a little more to that too. Then, of course like all cooks learn to do, is taste to see if it's good enough. I keep adding more rum to the glaze until just enough that it doesn't taste like an overkill. Then, what I use is an turkey injector and inject the rum glaze in the cake on the bottom first, then flip it up right, and inject the sides and the inside. Let me tell you, I get so many requests for this, I end up making 9 cakes a year for Christmas. OH, the rest of the glaze, I use a silicone brush and brush onto the rest of the cake real good. It's so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Krenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have used this recipe or one similar for years, I learned from my mom who got it from the Bicardi's web site. However, mom tweeked it quite a bit, she used the butter recipe cake mix DH or BC and of course she used butter and milk instead of oil and water. It is the best cake I also used the Bicardi's or Captain Morgan's spiced rum which gives you a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have been making this cake for years. Suggestion: After you've made the glaze and while the cake is still in the pan, poke holes in the bottom of the cake (I use a shish kabob skewer). Then use a spoon to drizzle the glaze over the cake and down the sides. Then turn the cake out onto a plate. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana Garland Laird
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We just got home from our honeymoon in Jamaica and I was dying to use the rum we brought back to make a rum cake. This was so moist and delicious!! I used Appleton Special rum. After removing the cake, I put half of the glaze into the bottom for the pan and inverted the cake back into the pan. I poked holes into the bottom of the cake and then poured the remaining glaze into the cake letting it sit and absorb all the liquid before turning it back over on my cake platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Garland Laird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was a hit. A minor change by a reviewer's suggestion; milk, instead of water. I left out nuts because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States