Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I absolutely love this cake. I had been looking for a rum cake recipe and found this one. I followed the recipe to the letter I just used gold rum and dark brown sugar instead of regular sugar. I loved the previous idea of pouring half of the glaze in the bottom of the pan and placing the cake back in after poking holes with a toothpick. I then poke holes in the bottom of the cake, poured the rest of the glaze on and then for an added twist I added about 1/4 cup more of the gold rum. I leave it to sit over night after I invert it and place it on a serving plate and place it in cake box. It comes out so moist and delicious I've gotten several requests to make this cake for birthday parties. I love to bake and I'm adding this cake to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
A GREAT, easy rum cake recipe. I would consider fewer nuts, but so delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Turner
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I just tried this recipe today. My family & I Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I have made this lovely cake many times. Do not change a thing. Trust me ... It's fabulous. It's more of an adult flavor,and men seem to go crazy for it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is easy and delicious. Ever since the first time I made this cake, my family considers it my specialty. :) I prefer it with spiced rum. Kirkland brand from Costco is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria A
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Brought this to Christmas Eve dinner with friends and they looovvvved it! I used Captain Morgans Rum (though I'm not too sure how much of a difference it makes), I also used white cake mix instead of yellow, so that it's not so obvious that I used cake mix. Very delicious with the nuts and very nice golden look when it comes out :) Tasted it and the cake was leaning on the too sweet side, so I added blackberries around the rim and in the middle of the bundt which added a lovely garnish and provided the perfect balance of tart that this needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I used a 9 x 13 cake pan and cooked it for approx 26 min and then proceeded to complete as directed, it is fantastic! Worked out perfect, this is definitely a redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
EXCELLENT AND MUST MAKE!!! I made this cake 3 times already and each time it's delicious! Followed the recipe as is!!! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
DELICIOUS! First time I made this, I added the rum to the glaze AFTER as the recipe calls for and it tasted too boozy. Second time I made this, I cooked the rum into the glaze and "Wahlah!" I have used this method ever since. When using a bundt pan, I found that brushing it with Crisco (veg shortening) instead of using Pam (cooking spray) and liberally flouring it, made this cake just fall right out of the pan...there's no need to run a spatula along the sides to loosen the cake, just give it a little shake. After removing the cake from the oven, using a skewer to puncture the cake allowed me to puncture it all the way through. While keeping the cake in the pan, I first glazed the sides, then the middle and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then I added the remainder of the glaze and let it sit for another 15 minutes saving just a little for touch-ups when I flipped it over onto a dish. Think of it as basting a turkey. I agree with the other ratings that the longer it sits the better it tastes (overnight is ideal). Substitutes I have used: Butter instead of oil in the mix- Milk instead of water in the mix- Orange juice instead of water in the glaze- Raw sugar instead of white sugar in the glaze- Pecans instead of walnuts- Añejo rum in the mix- Myers rum in the glaze- All substitutions I have formed (mainly because I didn't have the exact ingredients) have only made this one of the most versatile recipes I have ever used. Everyone loves this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
made this 2 times loved it! wish i had some rum right now i would make another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Hurtt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,045) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States