Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this for a party. Huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used almonds, and a cranberry rum! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I omitted the water and doubled the rum in the mix. I also doubled the rum in the glaze! I poked holes in the cooled cake then poured half the glaze in the bundt pan put the cake back in the pan and poured the rest of the glaze over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My family and I love this recipe so much that I made three cakes in the past two weeks. (Obviously I have a big family, two sides;we like the combination of rum with sweet). Although after reading the reviews I made some minor adjustments based on some of the suggestions, which was to remove cake from pan glaze then replace in pan and continue to glaze. The flavor was rich and the cake was moist. Just the way we like it! Thank you to all who provided their feedback, both positive and constructive. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonder and moist. Very easy too. I used rum extract for the glaze because I ran out of rum but have made it both ways. It is just a great cake and tastes great either way. I also did not have a bundt pan so I used a ceramic serving bowl. It was beautiful! I don't think you can go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent when down a treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My go to cake recipe now...love it. I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts and a Butter cake mix instead of yellow. I used a bakers spray on the pan and then sprinkled sugar inside the pan prior to adding the mix. I also added a little more butter in the glaze. Like others, I poked the bottom of the cake with a metal skewer and then poured a little over half the glaze on it. I let it sit for about 10 minutes then inverted the cake onto a plate, poured the remaining glaze over the cake and put it in the frig. Delish! I am going to make this cake many, many more times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this Rum cake the day before Christmas Eve and it was a hit sensation with my family. I followed the recipe except that I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts and I added a tsp of vanilla to the glaze. I can honestly say that I have never had such a moist cake. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and used a skewer to poke holes in the cake while it was still in the bundt pan for half the glaze. The glaze just soaked right in. The other half of the glaze, I carefully poured into the sides of the pan to stream down the sides of the cake. It worked out great. I inverted the cake in its dish but kept the cake in the bundt pan until we were ready for it. It kept the moisture locked in. I highly recommend this recipe. It will be a hit for anyone that appreciates a delicious rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acetopia74
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It is a great recipe. Added about a tablespoon more of vanilla pudding and hmmmm delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it for several years. I use a mini fluted pan (courtesy Pampered Chef) and cook for about 35 min. When it's done, I give it as gifts to my staff. Since it's at work I use rum emulsion instead of the real stuff for the glaze (still real rum in the cake). It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysa Chandler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,045) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States