Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I adapted this recipe tonight in an attempt to use up odds and ends in my kitchen and I'm VERY happy with the results. I used a spice cake mix instead of a yellow one and I substituted Brandy for the Rum. It turned out moist and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Easy and delicious. Definitely better after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I've made this cake a number of times it's always been a classic favorite, but today instead ofa yellow cake and vanilla pudding, I used a French vanilla cake mix with French vanilla pudding, plus I put a splash of vanilla extract into the glaze and it turned out better than ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great rum cake made it multiple times always had many compliments had some who wanted me to make them some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obelix58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this cake today, WOW, a real keeper. I used Appleton Estates Rum, and loved it, wouldn't use anything else. I did add cherries to the top with the walnuts just a different look I was after. I also poked holes in the bottom and poured gently and slowly over about 10 minutes the sauce into the bottom if the cake, then inverted the cake onto a plate and poured the sauce over the top. I did keep some aside so I could add it to the cut slices when served. I WILL make this cake at Christmas time and give away as presents, a true keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
OMG it is the best. I used pecans instead of walnuts only because I prefer the taste and I do that with all recipes that call for walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Joanisse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I liked the recipe because my mom used to make this for me when I was younger but I think the recipe could of turned out better if I had remembered to poke holes in the cake for the glaze to run through. It still turned out good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Why do people here always use 'cake mix'and 'pudding mix', not everyone can get these things. REAL ingredients please folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I mix all the cake ingredients together but add just a touch more rum to it, then on the glaze, when I add the rum last, I always add a little more to that too. Then, of course like all cooks learn to do, is taste to see if it's good enough. I keep adding more rum to the glaze until just enough that it doesn't taste like an overkill. Then, what I use is an turkey injector and inject the rum glaze in the cake on the bottom first, then flip it up right, and inject the sides and the inside. Let me tell you, I get so many requests for this, I end up making 9 cakes a year for Christmas. OH, the rest of the glaze, I use a silicone brush and brush onto the rest of the cake real good. It's so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Krenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have used this recipe or one similar for years, I learned from my mom who got it from the Bicardi's web site. However, mom tweeked it quite a bit, she used the butter recipe cake mix DH or BC and of course she used butter and milk instead of oil and water. It is the best cake I also used the Bicardi's or Captain Morgan's spiced rum which gives you a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,048) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States