Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was AMAZING! I followed the suggestion to use Myers Dark Rum for the cake and Appleton's for the glaze. Let it sit for a day and that's about all you'll see of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Garbacz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I know this recipe as Puerto Rican rum cake. I've made it lots of times and it's a winner. To me it needs more rum sauce but I make it as is. If you've ever had the Tortuga Rum Cake (YUMMY) I think it has less rum than that one. I've had Irish whiskey cake and to me that has a lot of liquor but oh so good! After I bake it I leave in pan poke holes and pour most of the sauce in the holes so it CAN BE ABSORBED IN THE CAKE. Once cooled I flip it onto plate and pour the rest on top. Delish Ps. I used butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
A friend of mine has been making her "secret recipe rum cake" for years. I tried this recipe three years ago so I could make one myself It was absolutely amazing! I use Captain Morgan Spiced Rum and it is a HIT any time I make this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Every time I make this cake, it disappears and people beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I've been making this same cake for at least 20 years. I've always left it in the pan, poked holes in the cake, and poured the glaze in - it fills the bundt pan but absorbs pretty quickly. My recipe calls for pecans, but it's otherwise the same. I've always made it a few days ahead of serving. Those that complain about the overwhelming rum taste are probably eating it real soon after preparing. This cake is a must for for my annual winter parties for several reasons. First, it tastes incredible and is super moist. Second, I can make it 2 or 3 days ahead without loss of quality. I store it on a plate, covered only by the Bundt pan, and it will stay fresh for 10 days - if it lasts that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Gruner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yes, I thought it was amazing!! I spiced it up with 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1 tsp. allspice, 1/2 tsp.of nutmeg! OMG!! Taste like Christmas!! Served it with a scoop of rum raisin ice cream........ Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnneM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
It was a bit sweet but overall it is really good! Warning to lightweighted people: you might get slightly tipsy from eating a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patti Mann Mitchell
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have made this cake several times now and just bought more rum today to make more. Everyone loves it. By adding the glaze the way you suggested; it soaked it up like a sponge!!! The only thing was that the nuts don't seem to show up like they did in your picture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I didn't have any rum or yellow cake mix, so I used a spice cake mix and used an apple liquor in place of rum. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Trapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States