Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent when down a treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My go to cake recipe now...love it. I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts and a Butter cake mix instead of yellow. I used a bakers spray on the pan and then sprinkled sugar inside the pan prior to adding the mix. I also added a little more butter in the glaze. Like others, I poked the bottom of the cake with a metal skewer and then poured a little over half the glaze on it. I let it sit for about 10 minutes then inverted the cake onto a plate, poured the remaining glaze over the cake and put it in the frig. Delish! I am going to make this cake many, many more times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this Rum cake the day before Christmas Eve and it was a hit sensation with my family. I followed the recipe except that I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts and I added a tsp of vanilla to the glaze. I can honestly say that I have never had such a moist cake. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and used a skewer to poke holes in the cake while it was still in the bundt pan for half the glaze. The glaze just soaked right in. The other half of the glaze, I carefully poured into the sides of the pan to stream down the sides of the cake. It worked out great. I inverted the cake in its dish but kept the cake in the bundt pan until we were ready for it. It kept the moisture locked in. I highly recommend this recipe. It will be a hit for anyone that appreciates a delicious rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acetopia74
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It is a great recipe. Added about a tablespoon more of vanilla pudding and hmmmm delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it for several years. I use a mini fluted pan (courtesy Pampered Chef) and cook for about 35 min. When it's done, I give it as gifts to my staff. Since it's at work I use rum emulsion instead of the real stuff for the glaze (still real rum in the cake). It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Awesome cake. Put lots of pecans instead of walnuts. Luv this cake. Instead of water, I put more rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Been making it for 3 years now. It has become a staple at family gatherings throughout the year. I make a few adjustments: buttermilk instead of water, softened butter in place of the oil, and a mixture of dark rum and coconut rum. I do follow the suggestion to remove cake from pan, pour 1/2 the glaze in the bottom, poke holes in the cake (using kebob skewers), and then place the cake back in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is a Christmas tradition! I never change a thing, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hadsel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was super easy. Moist and taste great. My friends and family loved it I had to make 2 more. Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpixa
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe, simple with not a lot of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpixa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States