Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by kpixa
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe, simple with not a lot of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpixa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I kept with the water instead of using milk because I have a very lactose intolerant family, so I try to cut back on as much dairy as I can. I also made a few changes, used coconut pudding instead of the vanilla pudding and I used Myers dark rum for the cake and glaze. Neither of the changes effected the flavor and everyone agreed it was the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used pineapple cake mix, coconut pudding, Goslings black rum, skim milk instead of water, and 3/4 granulated sugar 1/4 light brown sugar. Like some others I mixed in the rum about a minute early with the glaze to burn off some of the alcohol. Also put a dash of vanilla in the batter and the glaze. Turned up great. Will try it with yellow, lemon, and coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Have been making this cake for ages. I do have questions now. The nuts always seem to stick to the bottom of the pan. Anyone else have this problem? Then I tried to use Pam cooking spray instead of butter to grease the pan-huge mistake -had to almost scrape them out of the Bundt pan. Also when I do the glaze I leave the cake in the pan and pour the glaze into the pan then turn it out when it is cool. Maybe this is why the nuts stick? This recipe is fabulous.Lastly this year I bought smaller Bundt pans-1 packaged cake mix was enough for 2 of the pans-so each recipe made 2 cakes. I wrapped them up and gave them as gifts. I would love to send them by mail to people and see that someone wrote they did mail them and they got there fine. How do you mail them? I assume in a tin of some kind?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
this is a wonderful recipe. I've made it many times always using spiced rum. some people don't care for the nuts so I spread only 1/2 of pan with nuts so everyone is happy. I've also made it using chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding. it's delish either way. the last one I made it for thanksgiving I was told it was a little strong. next time I will try with a little less rum. thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcop082804
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I took the advice and removed the cake from the pan and poured half the glaze in the bottom of the pan. I poked holes all over the cake then carefully put the cake back in the pan. I poured the remaining glaze over the cake. I let it cool in the pan before flipping it out onto the cake plate. Great idea! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made this using gluten free vanilla cake mix and it was fabulous! Followed the recipe exactly except basted the cake with syrup regularly as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milihandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yellowgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
A crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 970) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States