Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have made this cake twice now. The first time I made a mistake and put two boxes of pudding in instead of one. this time around I made the recipe with just one and I actually think I like it better with two... Both times the cake was moist and delicious so no complaints here. This is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious! We couldn't wait to try the cake the night I made it and found it to be too "boozy". The next evening, however, revealed the true nature of this delicious rum cake, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This came out delicious my family raved about this Christmas dessert and we are not drinking people, but the rum brought out all the flavors so well in the cake. The only thing I did a little differently is rather than take the cake out of the bunt pan to glaze it I left it in poured the butter rum sauce in and allowed it to soak. My toughest critics loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Wilcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I love this recipe and make it as is but I do double the amount for the glaze. I also only use Captain Morgan Spice Rum for a truly delicious Rum Cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
this recipe was very easy to make and absolutely delicious i used pecans instead of walnuts the cake was very moist !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have been making this rum cake for over 35 years. I too prick holes in it and pour the rum glaze by the tablespoonful over the cooled cake. The longer you let it sit the better it tastes. Was a favorite back then is a favorite now and will always be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda Craig
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
My first time making this cake. ..had a little bit of a problem with the glaze. ..but didn't let that bother me. ..made another batch. came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wonderful! First time I made this I followed the directions exactly. It was too much rum flavor. This time I added the rum to the glaze during the last 2 minutes of cooking. This helped to burn off the alcohol flavor, but still left plenty of rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
delicious! the variations I made: -instead of vanilla I used butterscotch instant pudding -I used a yellow buttermilk cake recipe instead of box cake mix -real butter instead of veggie oil -pecan bits instead of walnut I took the advice of another poster and slit holes In the bottom of the cake while it is reinserted Into the pan for the glazing part.....so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,048) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States