Golden Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Victoria A
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Brought this to Christmas Eve dinner with friends and they looovvvved it! I used Captain Morgans Rum (though I'm not too sure how much of a difference it makes), I also used white cake mix instead of yellow, so that it's not so obvious that I used cake mix. Very delicious with the nuts and very nice golden look when it comes out :) Tasted it and the cake was leaning on the too sweet side, so I added blackberries around the rim and in the middle of the bundt which added a lovely garnish and provided the perfect balance of tart that this needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I used a 9 x 13 cake pan and cooked it for approx 26 min and then proceeded to complete as directed, it is fantastic! Worked out perfect, this is definitely a redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
EXCELLENT AND MUST MAKE!!! I made this cake 3 times already and each time it's delicious! Followed the recipe as is!!! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
DELICIOUS! First time I made this, I added the rum to the glaze AFTER as the recipe calls for and it tasted too boozy. Second time I made this, I cooked the rum into the glaze and "Wahlah!" I have used this method ever since. When using a bundt pan, I found that brushing it with Crisco (veg shortening) instead of using Pam (cooking spray) and liberally flouring it, made this cake just fall right out of the pan...there's no need to run a spatula along the sides to loosen the cake, just give it a little shake. After removing the cake from the oven, using a skewer to puncture the cake allowed me to puncture it all the way through. While keeping the cake in the pan, I first glazed the sides, then the middle and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then I added the remainder of the glaze and let it sit for another 15 minutes saving just a little for touch-ups when I flipped it over onto a dish. Think of it as basting a turkey. I agree with the other ratings that the longer it sits the better it tastes (overnight is ideal). Substitutes I have used: Butter instead of oil in the mix- Milk instead of water in the mix- Orange juice instead of water in the glaze- Raw sugar instead of white sugar in the glaze- Pecans instead of walnuts- Añejo rum in the mix- Myers rum in the glaze- All substitutions I have formed (mainly because I didn't have the exact ingredients) have only made this one of the most versatile recipes I have ever used. Everyone loves this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
made this 2 times loved it! wish i had some rum right now i would make another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Hurtt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Very good directions easy for me, I am not a baker...I did not change a thing it was very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have tried this recipe many times, made it for co-workers and husband's co-workers. I make it exactly as the recipe says (no nuts though) and everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I found this in 2008 & my husband has asked me every year since to make at least one around Thanksgiving. I use a cake mix with pudding in the mix (and still add the little box). I do have to omit the walnuts, but I did try macadamia nuts once in place and it was great! Wonderful with or without nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy of 3
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Has anyone experienced their cake shrinking about 10 min after taking it out of the oven? I looked this up online and I saw that it happens when you use Duncan Hines box mix only. I'm trying it again today with Pillsbury to see how it comes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent! I always follow the recipe first and then make changes on the second attempt if I feel they're needed. I had a bit of trouble getting the cake to absorb all of the glaze and I will follow some of the suggestions about that next time but I think the recipe is great as it is. I used Myers Dark Rum for both the cake and glaze and I might try a different rum for the glaze next time just to see how the contrast would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States