Golden Rice Cakes with Sweet Potato-Ginger Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Either the directions were too complex, or I just wasn't into cooking when I made this! I shaped the rice cakes, using some of the sauce to form the patties. If left to cook too long, the cakes broke up, so a short cooking time was needed, which meant that they would not be golden. The sauce could have used twice as much ginger to make these outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Really wonderful rice cake. However I made them the size of an ice cream scoop. They fried up nicely and when presented looked very attractive. My sauce was also too thick, but extremely tasty. It is a lot of work but well worth the effort. I will make again with a smaller sweet potato so my sauce is not too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Three stars as written, four with improvements. I have to confess that I used leftover brown rice cooked in chicken broth instead of jasmine rice with garlic, but other than that, I followed the recipe closely. I found it to be totally bland and I couldn't get the cakes to stick together while cooking. I even added an extra egg to the mixture. After tasting the first completed cake, I added some several dashes of hot sauce and some brown sugar to the sauce, which dramatically improved the flavor. If I make these again, I will use regular onion instead of green in the rice mix and add a little habanero for a zestier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My guests and I enjoyed this recipe. This was the second time I have made these rice cakes. The first time, I didn't use a food processor and simply grated the carrots and chopped the onions and peppers finely. I mashed the rice together with the vegetables. This time I used the food processor. Similar texture, and I have no preference. The amount of liquid for the rice, however, is off. The first time, I used 4 cups of water, since I "knew" 2 1/2 was far too low. My cakes were too wet. This time I followed the directions and the rice was so dry the cakes were falling apart. Next time, I will try 3 1/4 cups. The other thing I noticed was that the sauce is highly dependnet on the texture of the sweet ptotato. My first one was saucy, this time it was quite thick - more like a gravy. The thinner sauce was more appealing to the eye, but we ate all of it both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The sweet potato ginger sauce is very good, but making the rice cakes is just too complicated for the bland end product that results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Well I have to say, I really didn't follow the directions all that well. I, for the most part, just threw most of my ingredients in the blender and added that chunky paste to my rice. I did boil my coconut milk and ginger but I had hungry men passing the kitchen acting as if they've never had a meal in their lives. I only added one egg and mixed it all together to make patties but it was kind of messy in the pan. I ended up creating a fried rice topped with pan fried tofu, sauteed red peppers, red onion, cilantro, fresh spinach and garlic. I really liked the saltiness of the tofu against the sweet potatoe and ginger. The guys weren't terribly impressed but they gobbled it down. I refridgerated what I didn't fry and thanks to the temperature, I was able to make my patties and fried them up for lunch the next day for my neighbor and myself. She loved them. They taste better as golden rice CAKES not fried rice. Overall, I enjoyed this recipe and plan to do it again. Maybe I'll follow the directions next time... or maybe I won't. Thank you for such a unique dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
(***recently updated my rating from the original 4 stars to 5 stars) I give the rating I do only due to the taste, and the hopes that others will have better luck with it than I did. I didn't realize until I had already begun the recipe that it required the use of a food processor. So, I tediously chopped everything up. I don't have access to Jasmine rice, so I use short grain white rice instead. Unfortunately, chopping the rice by hand (instead of putting it in the food processer like the recipe calls for) was not possible. As a result my rice cakes would not stick together. I therefore made "Fried Rice with Sweet Potato Ginger Sauce" Which, as good as it tasted, was definately lacking. This is WAY to tedious for me to repeat, and if you don't have a food processor, I say don't even try! UPDATE: I have made this a few more times -- WITH a food processor. I REALLY love the taste. So, as long as you have a food processor, and if you REALLY want to impress someone (who is opened minded to trying new foods) this really is an eye pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Admittedly I have only prepared the rice cake portion of this dish. I’ve used it on several occasions to make a “bread” base for canap├ęs. I have gotten rather creative with the rice cakes. I’ve cooked the rice with stock and have added cheese and hot peppers to the mix. While the instructions are somewhat hard to follow at times, it does make a delicious rice cake, and one day I plan to try the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I love this recipe! It's very time consuming, but I'll make a lot of the sauce and save it in order to cut back on prep time. Delicious. I add hot sauce to the sweet potato sauce to give it a little kick--habenero peppers go really well with the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I think the directions might have been a little misleading, towards the end where you separate the rice mixture in half and then into thirds, then form each third into balls. I tried this and the balls were way to big and they fell apart. I made them much smaller, like the size of a meatball in spaghetti, and they came out great. Also, I think the first time you make them, the recipe is somewhat time consuming, but I am sure once you are familiar with it, it will be much quicker. However, the end result was well worth the time! They were delicious! We all loved them and will make them again. Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States