Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This soup was delicious. After reading the reviews I did make a few changes to mine. I used canned broth instead of bullion, I used cheddar cheese ( and just a bit of pepper jack for a kick), i also sauteed my onions in butter first. A very hearty soup, perfect for a snowy evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Blaine, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe tasted so good! It didn't turn out as "soupy" as I would have liked so I added more milk. Also, instead of ham I used chopped bacon and WOW! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni McDaniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
i made this and ate it for days at work. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!! I made this for the family on a very cold day. It was an instant hit! I substituted real bacon bits for the ham, used sharp cheddar cheese, & added 4oz. of sour cream when I took the pot off the heat. It was like having a baked potato in a bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I had lots of potatoes around the house and was looking for a soup recipe. I love this one because I already had all the ingredients in the house and even improvised. I added carrots and used bacon instead of ham. I also blended the soup before adding the cheese and meat. My 3 year old and 1.5 year old boys loved it and they are so picky! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is definitely a kid friendly recipe. My 12 year old who is very picky could not stop talking about how good it was. I made two changes for the kids though, I added onion powder and celery salt instead of the vegetables themselves. The two do not care for the cooked veggies. I personally found it to bland so I added plenty of Tabasco for DH and I. Per request of my son this dish will be at our table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was a smash hit. Great fall easy meal left the family asking me when I was going to make it again and insisting I double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
The recipe was quick and easy to do, and I really enjoyed it. It's a nice, hearty soup to make for colder days. Some modifications that I made: I added 1/2 cup of chopped carrots to the initial vegetable mixture to make it more of a full meal. I also reduced the celery by half (I just don't care for celery that much). In addition to the spices in the original recipe, I added a large pinch of thyme and 1/2 clove of minced garlic to the vegetable mix. I replaced the ham with 3-4 strips of crumbled, pre-cooked bacon. Finally, I did notice that I had to add extra water for the potatoes to cook fully--this was with the pot uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Loved this recipe! I was going to be out at hockey until right before supper, so I put it in my slow cooker for about 4 hours and then when I got home I put in the flour mixture and cheese. I also used bacon instead of ham and seasoned with a little worcestershire and Franks's RedHot. This recipe is great for a busy weeknight and I will definitely make it many times this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This potato soup is SO good! Perfect for a fall day. You definitely need to stay close by when cooking once you add the flour/milk, but overall its a very easy recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States