Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This soup is fantastic! It is also very forgiving if you substitute ingredients. I added more potatoes than the 3 cups, so I didn't need to use the flour to thicken. I also used turkey sausage (like you might use for spaghetti sauce or chili) and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this was easy and very good! i used an extra cup of potatoes, extra chicken broth, and used half milk and half broth to mix with the flour. also, i used about 4 slices of american cheese instead of shredded, and i added some leftover broccoli. it was a big hit with the kids! they said i should make it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy soup & easy to make. I doubled the recipe so we'd have leftovers. I didn't add celery, parsley, or ham (none on hand). I used cheddar cheese instead of American & omitted the salt (I think the cheese & bouillon had plenty). I used my immersion hand-blender to blend some of the cooked potato (I prefer that texture). Start to finish was about 45 minutes. Next time, I'll add some bacon to garnish the soup. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was very good. I put in bacon bits instead of ham. Will make again. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is an incredible soup! I never review either, but thought I should here. My husband was hesitant to eat a potato soup, but LOVED this one. I did double the water and boullin because I didn't want it too thick. I also didn't have any ham on hand so I used bacon instead which I also thought was amazing. It is going into my soup rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Made as written, except I didn't have bouillon so I used chicken stock. It was so yummy...my kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My whole family loves this soup! We omitted the ham just due to preference. This is easy, full of flavor and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I've made this three times now and each time it gets better and better. This is a tasteful, hearty soup that is easy to whip up on a cold winter's day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe and very easy to make. I doubled the recipe for 10 servings and only used about one cup of cheese. I liked it this way and a good way to cut back on fat/calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My family and I thought that this soup was simply delicious. I used all fresh ingredients. I am actually in the process of making another pot (bigger!) Thank You for the full tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetest Townsend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States