Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Just what I was looking for. A low calorie, but flavorful potato soup. We did add more water and milk, and substituted a garlic sausage instead of ham. Other than that, recipe was perfect, easy, and liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I've never made potato soup before; but I loved this recipe. Unfortunately; I didnt have the chicken bouillon or ham/bacon. Instead of celery I put in green beans that I cut into small pieces. For the bouillon I substitued the green bean juice, about 3 tbl sps. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sainte Genevieve, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious! I used a cup of homemade chicken broth instead of the boilion cube and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was wondeful! My guests also raved about it. I used all the ingredients called for (except the ham and I used chicken broth instead of water/bouillon) but made the following changes in preparation: I sauteed the onion and celery in bacon grease, then added the flour. Then I stirred in chicken broth (3 cups) and the milk and brought to a boil. I then added the potatoes and spices and simmered until the potatoes were tender. I stirred in the cheese and served with bacon bits and green onions. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise White Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Tasted better than anything I've had in a restaurant. I used new potatoes and a great tasting smoked ham - minced instead of chopped. I added a bit of butter and some green onions, and I used Velveeta Queso Blanco shreds for the cheese. Even though my husband prefers my old-fashioned potato soup, this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Eating this now and love it. I had lumps in the flour mixture that I could not get rid of. Maybe a roux to start next time? Gonna tell hubby they are dumplings, lol. Used immersion blender for creamy with some chunky left. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara199
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Loved it! I used bacon instead of ham. It comes out thicker and that is what I was looking for. I also put some ranch dressing in the leftovers and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I really like this recipe and changed it just a wee bit. I used organic chicken broth due to the large sodium content in bouillon, and that eliminated the water as well. I used half and half instead of milk (which added more milk fat) but made it creamier. I also bought hormone free lean bacon(real) pieces and let everyone add what they wanted to their's. I doubled the recipe for more people and ran out quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe alot. I changed the ham to keilbasa and used cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this simple but delicious recipe!! I've made it 2x and always double the recipe to share with others!! It's all ingredients that we have in the house on hand. I've never put the ham in and it taste delicious. I use velveeta cheese too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coleman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States