Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Sweat veggies first and used bacon instead of ham. Whole FAM enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I cooked my onions, celery and garlic in a tablespoon of butter till softened and smelling really good before adding the potatoes in, then used chicken broth to boil instead of plain water. I used three Russet potatoes and needed about two cups of broth to cover the potatoes completely. This wasn't any harder than adding it all together and boiling at once, but I'm sure gives it much deeper flavoring. I didn't have American processed cheese, but a mix of Colby/Cheddar worked out just fine. This was a great way to use up leftover ham from Thanksgiving, and really easy. We really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Love!! My mom used to make potato soup and it was ok but I was looking to make something out of the norm from my usual dishes so I tried this! I used almond milk instead of regular milk and cornstarch instead of flour(gluten free). I hate onions and celery (kind of picky I know!) so I ombitted those and used onion powder and garlic. I've made it twice more, once with mushrooms and once with broccoli and both were just as good. Note: I was having trouble with the soup staying together, could be the almond milk..so I just added a little more cheese and it came together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was very good! Made as described however I browned my ham cubes with the onion for added flavor before adding to the soup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made this fantastic potato soup exactly how it reads. I did use bacon instead of ham. It was perfect! Just the right consistency. You really don't need to change a thing! And my four young picky kids all ate it, yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this soup with a few modifications and it was a hit. I first fried pepper bacon and then sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon grease. I used Yukon Gold potatoes as they are more firm when cooked. I skipped the water and bouillon, used chicken stock instead. Lastly used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. Next time I will double up on the flour as I like my soups thicker, but corn starch did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by kaleb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Easy and quick with items you always have. Plus it's a hearty meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved it!!! Made it just as instructed and turned out simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is yummy. I turned it into a creamy potato soup. I used 4 cups potatoes to make the soup thicker and added 1/2 cup chopped carrots. I sauteed the onions, celery, and carrots first, and added minced garlic to taste. Instead of the water and bouillon, I used one cup of low sodium chicken broth because we are a low-sodium household. For that same reason, I omitted bacon or ham. I pureed the veggies and broth, then added the milk and flour mixture. Used cheddar cheese for a better cheese taste and sprinkled chopped green onions on the top just before serving. All in all, my mother said "this is a keeper". I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adkhkr44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I didn't have any chopped ham, so I substituted Johnsonville smoked sausage instead. It gave it such a smoky delicious flavor! This soup was delicious!! The only other thing I did differently was omit the celery as no one in my house likes it. A keeper recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States