Golden Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I omitted the onion, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was some of the best potato soup I've ever had. I want to try it again and add some cooked bacon instead of the ham just for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Used cornstarch instead of flour to make it GLUTEN FREE. Used bacon instead of ham & cheddar instead of American since thats what I had available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRG2006

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Love it! Big hit in my house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Perfect! The only change I made was using bacon instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this today and couldn't wait to try it. Soooo good. I did add a clove of garlic and I used a can of evaporated milk in place of the regular milk ( it's all I had). So creamy and thick! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My family only asked for more bacon next time! HA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe!! I used red potatoes in a pinch but it was still delicious. I use cream and milk and I sauteed my veggies and ham in a little evoo or butter if I'm being bad. I also use a TOUCH of smoked paprika for a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllyPski
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it for my family; an 11 year old, 6 year old, and my husband. It was a hit! I added bacon bits because that is what we love and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I absolutely love this dish, and so does the rest of my family. I always triple the recipe in order to feed my large, hungry family, and we never have left overs. I cut the potatoes very small, which cut down on the simmering time a lot, and I leave out the ham in order to accommodate the vegetarians in the family(I saute it and leave it on the table in a bowl for anyone who wants to add it to the soup). I also always use cheddar cheese, not American. I have made this soup many times, and will continue to make it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Needs more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States