Golden Orange Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made this as directed, egg yolk and all, and it is just a beautiful frosting! I, of course, had to adjust the measurements of the juices a bit to get the frosting to the perfect consistency (no recipe for frosting can be precise, so should not be criticized if more or less powdered sugar or liquid needs to be added). This is a light, fluffy, citrus frosting that was the perfect choice to frost Rainbow Citrus Cake, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Awesome!!! Since I was not making this for my family, I did not use the egg yolk. I am not sure of the purpose of the yolk - I have never made a frosting that called for one. I also only used 3 cups of sugar and with the lack of the the moisture from the yolk, I ended up adding in more lemon and orange juice. It was perfect for piping on my mini cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice frosting! This is very much what you make of it. Do you want something really stiff? Put in lots of sugar and less juice. Do you want something more liquidy? More juice, less sugar. To do this, I got the butter/zest/salt base down (omitted the yolk, like other reviewers said), then took turns adding a cup of sugar and a few teaspoons of juice. This let me bulk up in volume while keeping a good consistency, and when it came time to spread it on the cake, I got it as stiff/liquidy as I wanted. I loved being able to control it like that. I pretty much doubled the recipe. That got me more than enough icing for a three-layer 9-inch round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This frosting has great visual appeal... and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was easy and tasty. As I do with all frosting recipes, I doubled it. I omitted the egg yolk and added in addition to the juice some orange flavored liquor. This has a nice subtle flavor. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Quite tasty, although I recommend doubling the recipe. I did and needed it all to frost a 2-layer 9" cake. Use fresh zest because it really adds great flavour. I also added it splash of orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anichka5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Like most I had to double the recipe. I added more orange zest and juice too to give it more flavor. Also, this was WAY too sweet for my taste. I used 3 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
A great Frosting with a lovely flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I used all orange juice and orange oil and left out the egg yolk. Not wanting to use it. This tastes heavenly on spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Very nice recipe with a lovely flavor. I had to add just a touch of milk as it was just a little too thick to spread. Otherwise, a great icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States