Golden Mushroom Pork & Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this dish. We did feel like it needed a certain kick or punch of extra flavor to it. But it was very yummy as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I'm giving the original recipe 3 stars b/c while it was decent and easy to make, it really needed some more flavor. Before putting the chops into the slow cooker, I season them with salt, black pepper and dried rosemary(after rinsing them and patting them dry). I use white wine instead of water. If I don't have any white wine on hand I use chicken stock or lemon juice. I like the white wine flavor the best however. I've also noticed that the flavor changes slightly when you leave the peels on the apples vs. taking them off. The onion also makes a difference. I use a yellow onion b/c I like that flavor the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I read the reviews and tried to doctor up this sauce a bit. I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce so I looked up a recipe and just added the ingredients: fresh ginger, LOTS dried garlic, a bit of ketchup, a few tsps of soya sauce, lemon juice, a bit of hot sauce- it turned out delicious! Just keep testing as you add them until it tastes good (obviously put the pork in last while you mix the sauce). I also used Macintosh apples, served it on basmati rice- super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My family has been using a version of this recipe for years and we love it. It's delicious using stuffed pork chops or even chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I am giving this recipe two stars instead of one solely because my husband liked/ate it. It had a terrible texture and no discernable flavor. I would not ever make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Easy and tastey! Great with chicken too as a susbstitute for pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
really good-- not crazy about the apples in this recipe but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong, but I followed to recipe and all we tasted was onion. If I make this again, I'm gonna have to adjust something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I didn't think it lacked flavor. My only advice is to trim the fat off the pork, because after cooking for 9h the pieces of apple turned translucent and hard to distinguish from the pieces of fat that fell off the pork chops. Also, omit the water - even without it it was more runny than it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
While the pork turned out great, I also thought the sauce was really lacking flavor. Even though I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings, I kept the 2 cans of soup because other people had mentioned the lack of flavor. I was hoping that would help...it did not. This would be a great dish, but you really have to doctor up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States