Golden Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is my favorite bread recipe ever. It is wonderful. I baked them for my Granny's birthday last, and they were over half gone 10 minutes after I took them out of the oven. The recipe is versital, I use it for bierocks, loafs bread, rolls, sticky buns, pizza crust, whatever I need bread dough for. I kneed the dough with the dough hook on my mixer, and that makes a big difference in how the bread turns out. A previous review said they didn't know what to do with the eggs. It says in step 2 what to do with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipie is sooo easy & works everytime! I don't use any other recipie for rolls. Sweet, flaky, and delicious! HIghly recommend trying this. They don't last long so I usually make double the batch & use my bread machine. Easy! Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this for Thanksgving, and it turned out perfectly. Everyone loved them. They were relatively easy to make, too. The only down I could say is they are much better fresh than as leftovers, but nonetheless we ate them and enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I made these rolls in a half batch and my kids ate them so fast they didn't have time to cool! So, I'm making a full batch today. They taste like the delicious sweet rolls served at O'Charie's Restaurant. My problem is that the dough is so wet and sticky that I can't even knead it! I finally gave up, after making a big mess and let my Kitchenaid do it. I added and extra 3/4 cup of flour, but no more for fear they would get tough. Even then it was too sticky. It makes it very hard to handle. Am I doing something wrong? They are very yummy though and worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party of 6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I made this dough into two braided loaves, and they turned out just as nice as many of the other egg breads I've tried--very light and feathery, but perhaps a tad sweeter because there's so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
beautiful presentation! But I found them way too sweet. They were so flakey and soft, I will make them again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe made great rolls. The dough was sticky throughout the kneading process and I only added enough flour to keep my hands from sticking as I kneaded. I divided the dough into thirds, then divided each third into 16 balls. Went a lot faster than making knots, but the two knots I did make were great too. Just make sure not to add too much flour and overknead or the dough will become tough. It is not the smooth playdough type of bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
These were extremely good, especially after brushing and spreading butter on them. I do wish they where easier and less time consuming, but which homemade breads are. When I make breads, I turn the oven on to its lowest setting, place the dough inside, they rise beautifully and take less time to double. But, make sure you place a clean damp kitchen town on top of the bowl or the dough will develop a crust which will prevent it from rising properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
all i can say is "awesome". thank you so much for this recipe. these turned out so soft and delicious. my family gobbled them up. i made them into rolls instead of the knots. this will be my one and only recipe to use for rolls from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States