Golden Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
We love this and my picky older son that's 5 decided this was his favorite roll. I freeze a large part of the recipe and reheat. I've also made some of the dough into cinnamon rolls for a tasty breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are AMAZING!! I halved the recipe and used rapid rise yeast like another reviewer said. I also put the covered bowl on a heating pad to rise so I only had to wait about 45 min instead of an hour. After putting the knots on my baking sheet, I put them back on the heating pad to rise again. I brushed them with butter when they were done. Wow!! They are so good! My husband saw them and said "Please tell me you didn't make these for someone else!" Nope, all for the two of us! :) We both had 4 each straight out of the oven! Good thing I halved the recipe because they are super addicting. Just enough sweetness to remind me of the rolls that Chick-Fil-A uses in their minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbrown7k
Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made these for my family but I also added garlic powder and italian herbs to coincide with my italian themed meal. They were so light and fluffy and a big hit!!! Thank you Sara Stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I really liked this recipe. It reminded me a lot of a roll I had growing up at a friends house. I was worried the rolls would be too sweet based on reviews but they actually are only slightly sweet. These rolls are 10x better if you sprinkle onion soup on top! If you like this recipe you must try it with the onion. If you don't have the soup you could use dried onion and some beef or vege bullion powder 2:1 and a little pepper. The rolls cooked for me in about 10 min. I would have had burned rolls if i let them go for 15. You must keep an eye on these they cook really fast. Also be generous when you brush them with butter it will keep them a little bit softer longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I must have made this a dozen times now. I do a half batch in the bread maker (dough setting only), then turn it out onto a lightly floured counter top, cut it into 16 pieces, roll "snakes" and tie in knots, and bake in a greased 13x9 pan. They turn out beautifully each and every time. I've taken to substituting bacon grease for the butter in the dough portion of the recipe and it's delicious. This is my go-to roll recipe and I'm thrilled with how quick and easy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the all of the sugar and the warm water milk for ten minutes, then added the remaining ingredients. This dough needed a half cup more flour to get it into a solid ball that could be kneaded with the dough hook. I kneaded the dough with the hook for about five minutes. After kneading, I set the dough to rise on a warm heating pad, covered, in a greased bowl for an hour. After the dough doubled, I plopped the dough out of the bowl, formed the dough into knots as the recipe stated, then set them to rise on greased baking sheets on the warm heating pad again for a half-hour. After baking, I brushed every knot with vegetable oil to give it a soft top. These turned out BEAUTIFUL. This was a slow rising dough but the end result was wonderful--light and fluffy with the best flavor. It's a little sweet for a dinner roll for us but honestly, big deal. This would make an excellent breakfast sweet roll. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
My family and I have now determined this is one of our favourites and the first time I made it I did it in about 3 different ways. Awesome for cinnamon rolls or clover leaf buns and especially my spirals. Awesome recipe and now in our family book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are the Best! My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These rolls came out great and they made an extra large batch. I made them in the knot shape and they baked up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These rolls had a good taste and were pretty easy to make, however mine spread out too much for me instead of puffing up. I did just try to make them into rolls instead of tying the knots (to save time,) but others said they did this and seemed happy with their results... I'm not sure if I did something wrong? Anyway, next time I'd bake them in muffin tins so the roll couldn't spread so much, and I bet I'd give them a higher rating then. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States