Golden Knots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the all of the sugar and the warm water milk for ten minutes, then added the remaining ingredients. This dough needed a half cup more flour to get it into a solid ball that could be kneaded with the dough hook. I kneaded the dough with the hook for about five minutes. After kneading, I set the dough to rise on a warm heating pad, covered, in a greased bowl for an hour. After the dough doubled, I plopped the dough out of the bowl, formed the dough into knots as the recipe stated, then set them to rise on greased baking sheets on the warm heating pad again for a half-hour. After baking, I brushed every knot with vegetable oil to give it a soft top. These turned out BEAUTIFUL. This was a slow rising dough but the end result was wonderful--light and fluffy with the best flavor. It's a little sweet for a dinner roll for us but honestly, big deal. This would make an excellent breakfast sweet roll. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
The recipe does state to add the eggs to the dough....please re read. I'm sorry if they didn't turn out for you if you didn't add them. These are the best sweet rolls. Sorry...Let me know if you make them again and how they turn out. thanks *smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
These were extremely good, especially after brushing and spreading butter on them. I do wish they where easier and less time consuming, but which homemade breads are. When I make breads, I turn the oven on to its lowest setting, place the dough inside, they rise beautifully and take less time to double. But, make sure you place a clean damp kitchen town on top of the bowl or the dough will develop a crust which will prevent it from rising properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe made great rolls. The dough was sticky throughout the kneading process and I only added enough flour to keep my hands from sticking as I kneaded. I divided the dough into thirds, then divided each third into 16 balls. Went a lot faster than making knots, but the two knots I did make were great too. Just make sure not to add too much flour and overknead or the dough will become tough. It is not the smooth playdough type of bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I made these for Thanksgiving and again a short time after. They were a big hit. I will be making them again for Christmas dinner. The only thing I did differently was I put egg yolk on the rolls before I put them in the oven, that made them have a nice color and shine to them. They are great, I didn't have any problem with them being too yeasty or hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLUCRISIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The receipie was good. The dough was a great taste, the only caution I would give is to make sure the oven IS NOT too hot. Watch rolls carefully, as I burned the bottoms and the tops were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Incredible! I made rolls instead of knots, although I made about 6 knots, the bread tastes incredible, a must have in ever great chef's recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
all i can say is "awesome". thank you so much for this recipe. these turned out so soft and delicious. my family gobbled them up. i made them into rolls instead of the knots. this will be my one and only recipe to use for rolls from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
These turned out really badly when I tried them. They were hard as rocks and didn't have the fluffiness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I made a ton and shared them with neighbors and they LOVED them. I had a 7 year old ask me to please send more when I bake them again. What a great feeling. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe and for helping me put a smile on all of my nieghbor's faces especially the 7 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States