Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very simple, don't worry about substituting butter for shortning, I did and it turned out great. I made these as part of our big Thanksgiving and now I'm required to bring these for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
The BEST dinner roll! I made them into clover leaf rolls by placing three small dough balls into each muffin tin and allowing them to rise. They are beautiful and delicious. Don't require a ton on kneading like other yeast breads I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made a half recipe of these rolls. I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I let the yeast bloom with the warm liquids and sugar in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the other ingredients. This dough needed an additional 1 cup flour to form into a solid ball. I then kneaded it with the dough hook for five minutes. After the second rise, I rolled the dough into heaping 1/4 cup balls and plopped them into my greased cast iron skillet, then covered them and set them to rise on my warm heating pad. After the second rise, I brushed them with melted butter. I got TEN rolls out of the halved recipe, not 12--but I did make them a little big. These rolls were perfect! They were light and fluffy and just wonderful. This absolutely was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were fabulous...right out of the oven. We brought them to a dinner party (to be served w/soup) and they were dry and blah. So, if you're going to eat these right away, they were very good - if not, look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These turned out great.My family Loved them. And I saved the left overs and they reheated very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These rolls were very good, the texture was very light and fluffy. I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening and increased the salt. Next time a tad more salt to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good rolls. I cut the recipe in half and it made 9 large dinner rolls. I also used country crock instead of shortening and they came out really good. The dough is very wet- I used almost another cup of flour during the kneading stage. Next time I will add honey to the dough to play up the sweet flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simple, and easy. I am usually impatient when it comes to rising times, but the flavor really comes thru if you can sit tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This will be the staple recipe for dinner rolls now. Absolutely easy to make with delicious flavor. Excellent right out of the oven. I was impressed by how well they kept and were still as good a couple days later. I served it with a honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My mother-in-law said of these rolls, after I made them for Thanksgiving, "These are just like my mom's." You can't get better praise then that.I used butter flavor Crisco for the shortening which gave them a nice, buttery flavor.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SADIBYRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States