Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very simple, don't worry about substituting butter for shortning, I did and it turned out great. I made these as part of our big Thanksgiving and now I'm required to bring these for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
The BEST dinner roll! I made them into clover leaf rolls by placing three small dough balls into each muffin tin and allowing them to rise. They are beautiful and delicious. Don't require a ton on kneading like other yeast breads I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made a half recipe of these rolls. I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I let the yeast bloom with the warm liquids and sugar in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the other ingredients. This dough needed an additional 1 cup flour to form into a solid ball. I then kneaded it with the dough hook for five minutes. After the second rise, I rolled the dough into heaping 1/4 cup balls and plopped them into my greased cast iron skillet, then covered them and set them to rise on my warm heating pad. After the second rise, I brushed them with melted butter. I got TEN rolls out of the halved recipe, not 12--but I did make them a little big. These rolls were perfect! They were light and fluffy and just wonderful. This absolutely was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were fabulous...right out of the oven. We brought them to a dinner party (to be served w/soup) and they were dry and blah. So, if you're going to eat these right away, they were very good - if not, look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These turned out great.My family Loved them. And I saved the left overs and they reheated very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These rolls were very good, the texture was very light and fluffy. I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening and increased the salt. Next time a tad more salt to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good rolls. I cut the recipe in half and it made 9 large dinner rolls. I also used country crock instead of shortening and they came out really good. The dough is very wet- I used almost another cup of flour during the kneading stage. Next time I will add honey to the dough to play up the sweet flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simple, and easy. I am usually impatient when it comes to rising times, but the flavor really comes thru if you can sit tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This will be the staple recipe for dinner rolls now. Absolutely easy to make with delicious flavor. Excellent right out of the oven. I was impressed by how well they kept and were still as good a couple days later. I served it with a honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My mother-in-law said of these rolls, after I made them for Thanksgiving, "These are just like my mom's." You can't get better praise then that.I used butter flavor Crisco for the shortening which gave them a nice, buttery flavor.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States