Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yummy! I did use butter instead of shortening. And I had to add an extra 1 1/2 cups of flour as well. No biggie. My family loved these rolls though. Hubby said they were second to my aunts rolls. That's a really big compliment from him! Very soft and fluffy and I loved the flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are hands down the best rolls I've ever made. Making my second batch since Thursday. Light, fluffy and really tasty. If you like making bread this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really can't rate these because I never got to bake them. The dough was so sticky that I could not work with it to shape them into rolls. The dough ended up in the trash. Six cups is definitely not enough flour for these rolls! I'm surprised that more reviews didn't mention this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these rolls on Thanksgoving day and they came out delicious! I had to substitute the milk with rice milk and for the shortening I used a vegan option and the rolls tasted really wonderful. I did need extra flour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Update 3/10/13: I've been making this recipe for three years. I changed the recipe when I gave up dairy and meat. My vegan version replaces the egg with "Ener-G" brand egg replacer. I replaced the cow milk with coconut milk. Immediately I thought they tasted better. These were fantastic. The best rolls. I used 3/4 teaspoon salt, butter instead of shortening, cut the recipe in half, used two smaller large eggs. I made on Thanksgiving and formed them to read THANX. They were ready early so they had extra time to rise. The letters were huge. I've been looking for a replacement for the hamburger rolls my husband likes, because they aren't organic. I'm going to try to form these into hamburger rolls next time. I used a meat thermometer to check the water temp - never did that before. My usual hot tap water was hotter than the recommended temperature. I let cool to the perfect temperature before mixing with the yeast. I think these were my most successful yeast rolls ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe, we enjoyed them last Thanksgiving and Christmas. They are simple to make and very good. We will have them again at our gathering this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I have tried a couple different bread and roll recipes on here and I would have to say this is the best! The rolls came out perfectly and I even had enough dough to make a loaf of bread for the following morning! Thankyou for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I also halved the recipe and it kept us for two days! Great rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Loved these rolls! I followed the recipe exactly & they came out very good. However, I would probably recommend halving the recipe as I had 12 people over and still had a ton of leftover rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I'd give it 5 stars if I didn't end up having to add an extra cup to cup and 1/2 of flour every time. The taste is fabulous, it just eats a ton of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States