Golden Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I'm a total loser when it comes to making 'bread', 'dough' or any yeast product. THIS is unbelievable! Its easy-made AS WRITTEN. Made 1/2 recipe first; now onto the full recipe today! Light, fluffy; rises without problem. THANK YOU! I'm a bread maker now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I made this into 18 cloverleaf rolls with 50% whole wheat flour. Super fluffy, definitely my new bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made these rolls for my family 1 night and they were all gone before i knew it. so i made them again and doubled the batch and the same thing happened. Great tasting and fluffy also. the flour was off by at least a cup though they were way to sticky with just 6 cups. so the second time i added about 1/4 c of honey. and did not have to add more flour than the 7 cups i had to add with the original recipe. this added some sweetness to the roll which my family loves. im making rolls for my parents and best friend, i tried the second batch but between my hubby and kids they didnt make it even close to the door. but all in all i love this recipe and have and will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe. I'm a live-at-home college kid, and my "rent" is to make dinner. I'm no expert baker, by any means, and I was looking for an easy dinner roll recipe-- basically one I couldn't screw up. This was it! My only suggestion is to really sift the flour, otherwise, like any bread, it turns out really dense. I only sifted the first three cups of flour or so and got lazy with the rest. My only change to the recipe was I melted butter on them before I put them into the oven which gave them a delicious crunch to the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wonderful fluffy, melt in your mouth rolls. Easy to make if you are patient and let the rise the right amodunt of time. Ours didn't dry out over the three days they actually lasted. Great recipe. I used vegetable oil/canola oil instead of shortening and it didn't make a difference and was easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
it was good. my daddy liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
They resembled biscuits more than dinner rolls. Too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fantastic! I substituted the shortening with butter as well. The dough was a little sticky but the key was to keep a small smattering of flour on it without over working it. The finished product was light and airy. I ended up using about 7 cups of flour in the end. Depending on your elevation and levels of moisture in the air you can use more or less flour than this recipe calls for. I will definately make it again. It tasted like my grandma's bread and I've been dying to get that recipe for ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Yummy...fluffy! Delish! I used butter also, and they turned out great. It also took about a cup more flour than called for. I made a loaf and 12 VERY BIG rolls...I will make a bigger pan of smaller next time. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
That is the closest recipe I have seen so far that is like what my Mom used to make all the time. So light and perfect! I made 12 rolls and 1 loaf from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States