Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Oh Yay! I've never made any kind of bread from scratch before, and I was really nervous about this one. I was simply ASTOUNDED by how easy it really was. Particularly rolling out the dough. And it rose so beautifully. I feel so accomplished and they taste wonderful! LATER NOTE: After making these several times, I accidentally discovered that letting the rolls sit an extra hour before putting them in the oven actually makes them significantly better. LATER LATER NOTE: I wanted a wheat roll one evening, so I substituted half the white flour for whole wheat flour, and the results were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
These rolls are wonderful. I had to bake them at 325 degrees because the 400 degrees that the recipe calls for burned them at the bottom while failing to cook the top. Like other readers, I had to extend each rise for about an hour. I also substituted butter for the shortening (because of the health risks associated with shortening), and they still tasted great. I served them hot with honey butter, and they were a big hit! These are more dense than a croissant, but less dense than, say, a yeast roll. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This recipe was made for a group of 120 in a commercial kitchen. We substituted whole wheat flour for half of the flour it calls for. The rolls turned out wonderful! Very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
WOO HOO.. I did it with the help from my fellow foodies support. These were wonderful. I divided the recipe as there is only two of us. I made crescents for dinner. Then I made Cinnamon Rolls for dessert. I put butter, cinnamon, brown sugar on the dough after rolling out. Rolled that up and sliced, put in round pan to raise. When they came out I topped with cream cheese frosting II from this site. I had some in the fridge, it keeps very well. It melted over these very nicely. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
These are great!! Not a croissant, but much lighter than an average roll. I've made them 4 times now, and they're fairly "fool-proof", as I've made mistakes (letting them sit too long) and they still turn out fine. Highly recommended, dough works great in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
made these in my bread machine as well and they turned out great. I will definately be making these often-my four boys gobble them up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
They're good rolls, but they don't taste like croissants- they're like normal rolls and not flakey. They look nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
These rolls were VERY good and VERY easy to make! I brushed a little egg white on top of each roll which added a nice browness. They were a hit at my family Christmas party. I will bake them over and over! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe completely impressed my inlaws (which is not easily done). My MIL is an extremely good cook and she even gave me compliments! I used half the recipe and made crescent rolls and with the other half of the dough I made cinnamon rolls for dessert. You can do both with this recipe!!!! Thanks for this diamond that will be a staple in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have tried many roll recipes on this site and others and this is without a doubt my favorite. My 5-year old rated it as such "5 fingers plus one thumb on the other hand so it gets 6 stars!" :) It was incredibly easy to make. I used my bread machine and set it to the dough cycle. I used a pizza cutter to cut the wedges and placed the rolls on parchment-lined cookie sheets. IMPORTANT NOTE: I have to believe this baking temp of 400 is incorrect. I took the advice of other reviewers and lowered my temp to 350. My rolls were perfectly golden brown in exactly 9 minutes. I brushed the tops with melted butter as suggested and these are absolutely heavenly. I'm not even sure if I'll ever bother with another roll recipe after this. They're so pretty and so tasty, unbelievable. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is without a doubt a keeper. I've already printed it out and put it in my 3-ring binder...only the best recipes go in there! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States