Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were marvelous! I made a few minor changes, I used half the sugar, and I only put in 3 1/2 cups of flour in the dough. My husband really loved them, he ate three later after dinner as snacks! They are yummy and tender even the next day. I sliced them in half the morning after and put ham inside for a wonderful breakfast sandwich. I'm going to make them for the holidays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Awesome! I made half of them into crescent rolls and the other half into mini cinnamon rolls. Both are delicious right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedinanarmy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was concerned when this dough more resembled cookie dough than bread dough, and then again when it didn't rise during the first hour. I went ahead and rolled it out (by the way this rolled out BEaUTIFULLY!!) and formed it into crescents. I preheated the oven to 150, shut it off once it was heated, and let them rise in there. That worked well and they rose great! I omitted the butter before rolling and didn't miss it. I also found that 3 cups of flour total was plenty enough for this dough. These turned out very delicious! They far exceeded my expectations!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I never actually made this into rolls. When I make this, I just use the dough for other things after it has raised the first time. I have used it as the crust for a breakfast pizza and as the "pie crust" for a tomato pie (recipe found on this site). It is soooo good! If you want to use the dough as a pizza or pie crust however, make only half of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are sooo light and fluffy. So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I've made this several times now and it's my go to recipe for crescent rolls. I use my bread machine and substitute butter for the shortening. It also makes great cinnamon rolls. On one occasion, I didn't brush the dough with butter before rolling up and they were a little dry and not as tasty. Other than that...it's a home run every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband loves this recipe. I've also made it with wheat flour and the rolls turned out wonderful and they are so easy to make. The only thing I do different is put it in a bread machine to mix and then bake it on 350. I agree with the earlier post that 400 tends to burn the bottom of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were truly very easy. They rose beautifully and and were yummy. My kids ate them up! Definitely worth the effort of homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Fabulous!! Awesome!! I used this recipe to make homemade rolls for the first time...turned out perfectly!! The only modification I made is I used softened butter in place of the shortening. I also used other reviewers' advice and doubled the rising times (for before rolling & after). I also did as some others as well and divided the dough in half and did crescent rolls for dinner, and made cinnamon rolls with the other half of dough. I rolled them out & prepared them at the same time as I did the crescent rolls, and let them continue to rise while the crescents baked. Since I didn't have any cream cheese with which to make a frosting, I whipped together a quick glaze oh 1 cup powdered sugar, 3 Tbsp milk, and 1 tsp vanilla. Drizzled it all over the cinnamon rolls after the finished baking and they look divine! Now my husband and I can't wait to try them for breakfast tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We love these. So easy to make and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States