Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I've made this several times now and it's my go to recipe for crescent rolls. I use my bread machine and substitute butter for the shortening. It also makes great cinnamon rolls. On one occasion, I didn't brush the dough with butter before rolling up and they were a little dry and not as tasty. Other than that...it's a home run every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband loves this recipe. I've also made it with wheat flour and the rolls turned out wonderful and they are so easy to make. The only thing I do different is put it in a bread machine to mix and then bake it on 350. I agree with the earlier post that 400 tends to burn the bottom of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were truly very easy. They rose beautifully and and were yummy. My kids ate them up! Definitely worth the effort of homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Fabulous!! Awesome!! I used this recipe to make homemade rolls for the first time...turned out perfectly!! The only modification I made is I used softened butter in place of the shortening. I also used other reviewers' advice and doubled the rising times (for before rolling & after). I also did as some others as well and divided the dough in half and did crescent rolls for dinner, and made cinnamon rolls with the other half of dough. I rolled them out & prepared them at the same time as I did the crescent rolls, and let them continue to rise while the crescents baked. Since I didn't have any cream cheese with which to make a frosting, I whipped together a quick glaze oh 1 cup powdered sugar, 3 Tbsp milk, and 1 tsp vanilla. Drizzled it all over the cinnamon rolls after the finished baking and they look divine! Now my husband and I can't wait to try them for breakfast tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We love these. So easy to make and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very dense and a little dry. Most likey not going to make again but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were wonderful rolls. I substituted butter for the shortening. I couldn't have asked for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
oh what can i say about this recipe? its fool proof. i've messed it up adding double the shortening, replacing shorteneing with olive oil. for me it rises within half an hour. i've put garlic and parmesean cheese inside, brown sugar and cinnamon, the possibilities for this dough is endless and they are so cute. i end up cutting each circle into 16 for mini crescent rolls for potluck dinners and they always disappear. dont know what i'd do without this recipe. its fast, easy, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Fantastic dough! I did modify it to use rapid rise yeast everytime I've made it. I really like it with a little oatmeal to replace some of the flour and half of the sugar replaced with honey. Can we say honey oat crescent rolls!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Used this recipe in my bread maker turned wonderfully! I only had one envelope of yeast and they still made HUGE crescents! I made them in to garlic herb crescents by adding some oregano basil and one crushed clove garlic to the mix. Then made a mix of 4 cloves garlic, oregano, basil and parsley to 1/4 cup melted butter and brushed on top before putting them in the oven. They were a big hit at the potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States