Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
A similar recipe has been made in my family for over 50 years! We use 1 cup scalded whole milk, a stick of butter, 3 eggs, and 41/2 C flour.The milk just makes a richer bread. I also divide the dough into thirds, and get 36 rolls. My kiddos love these with an orange glaze- mix OJ concentrate (never drinkable OJ) with powdered sugar- voila! Nice breakfast treat, or serve plain for dinner. Soo good, and pretty easy and foolproof, even for the beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Absolutely nothing like store-bought crescent rolls, but still very, very good! A sweet yeast roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Tasty and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
really a 4.5 stars. the only thing was mine were very brown after only 9 mins. I made this with my 3yr old as a weekend activity. the yeast, the punching and the rolling were all lots of fun. I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These crescent rolls are so very good. I would definitely make them again. Made 24 so have some to freeze for later. They did not take very long to make either. I am just learning how to make bread and this was a good confidence booster. Loved Them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Too funny, I have been making this exact recipe for 40 years, my mother got it from a cousin 60 years ago. I make it several times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These were fantastic! Like most other reviewers I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the shortening. I also left out the additional 1/4 cup of butter at the end because I figured 1/2 cup was plenty. The dough was very easy to work with, and they turned out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So yummy and soft and flaky on the inside! Reminds me of the inside of the Pillsbury Flaky Biscuits. I wanted something that really was a crescent roll and not just a roll in the same shape and these are as close as they get! We moved to Hungary and I can't find shortening here so I used butter instead and they turned out great. Threw everything in my bread machine. Seemed a little sticky and soft when I took it out but in ended up fine. Makes really big crescent rolls! I had to tint them with foil the last 3 or 4 mins. or else they would have burned on top. Will def. make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These are SO good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States