Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My mom has used this recipe for years. We get requests to take them everywhere. The original recipe (Lowell Inn Crescent Rolls) uses 4 cups sifted flour. We never sift so we use less... about 3 3/4 cups, your dough will be very sticky. This is the way you want it. The less you work with your dough the lighter and fluffier they will be. Don't knead,use a mixer or a bread machine, a spoon will do. We also use all butter no shortening... we just prefer that. This is a wonderful recipe AS IS. You can roll your rolls out put them on a sheet and freeze them. It will take about 3 warm hours for them to rise but they are very good. Once you get the hang of it you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Well these were one of the first (successful) crescent rolls I've ever made :) They were pretty good but I feel like they were missing something, overall a great recipe- thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
These were awesome when they cam out, and still amazing a few days later (stored of course). Couldn't ask for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Awesome! Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These turned out pretty decent... better than the ones you buy in the store... this is a great recipe, however I am still not a huge fan of crescent rolls because they are a fat heavy bread.. but they do look wonderful and everyone else seemed to enjoy them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This receptive was fantastic..... IT'S ALL I EVER EAT AND FORCE MY GOLD FISH TO EAT, HE DOESN'T WNJOY IT BUT I DO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very close to an old "dinner roll" recipe from the 40's...a little richer, sweeter and with water vs. milk. Results were quite good. The ppl who said they needed to cook at a lower temp might want to have their ovens' thermostats checked for accuracy...mine is spot on and 400 degrees was perfect. Same w/the ppl regarding rise times: they might want to make sure they are letting their dough rise in a warm enough spot. Rise time was spot on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it for Christmas Eve just now. These are sooo good. My family is just loving them. I didn't change a thing and will certainly make it a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is very good! I did not make it into crescent rolls; instead I used it to make a sopapilla cheesecake. It worked perfectly for that purpose- a lovely crust! I will be trying these out as rolls soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These rolls are very nice,nothing like croissant. Like a dense egg bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States