Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
The texture was nice but lacking in flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I make these I will add half butter and half shortning to the dough, to achieve the buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These are OUT OF THIS WORLD! My husband thought for SURE they were the brand name crescent rolls you pop out of a can! For the reviewer that said they don't taste anything like croissants, that's because there is a difference between croissants and crescent rolls. This is not a recipe for croissants. Enjoy! Dough will not appear to have risen at all during each rising but they turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These were great and easy to make. I'm going to make cinnamon rolls this time too...and I did use 1/2 whole grain. Really light and airy, my 6 year old loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Mine just did not rise like they should have. They tasted more like a roll than a crescent roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Completely wonderful! I was going to use a different recipe til I found I was short on eggs. Only had one egg to use and no shortening (used margarine). Used a pastry blender to cut in the margarine to the dry ingredients before adding the eggs and yeast/water. Don't know if that made a difference, but the end result was fantastic: soft & light roll, and pleasantly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This dough is fabulous to work with. I made exactly as instructed and used the dough to make sausage crescent rolls. They were delicious. Can also use 1/2 whole wheat flour. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
these turned out great. I used this recipe for making pigs in blanket and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Potter- Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were a delight. I was so busy when I made it that I just let them rise for longer than stated but it was just fine. Excellent. I'm not sure that it makes it better or not to sit rising/resting longer but they turned out light and yummy. Not so much like a crescent (that is more the shape) but a great roll. The butter in the middle adds a lot to it. Thank you Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Made according to the recipe. The taste was fantastic, the kids enjoyed them fresh and reheated the next day. They were not as fluffy as I would have liked. I will make them again and try to keep the dough more elastic and add rising time. The flavor makes it well the extra attempt. UPDATE: Made it again keeping the dough much more moist and the rolls rose better and were much lighter. Incresed from 4 to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Wonderful rolls! I made them for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I shaped half of the dough into the crescent rolls and the other half I rolled out, coated with softened butter, then sprinkled liberally with a brown sugar, cinnamon and chopped walnuts mixture. I rolled them up long ways and cut into 9 cinnamon rolls. I put the rolls into an 8x8 glass pan sprayed with nonstick cooking spray and covered them with plastic wrap. I put them in the fridge overnight. The next morning I took them out and let them come to room temperature, rise a while then baked them in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. They were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States