Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is very similar to ur family recipe. Only diff is that we use butter instead of shortening and 1/2 cup each of milk and water (for proofing). We bake at a lower temp too cuz the rolls get a little Oklahoma brown if you bake too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have tried many roll recipes on this site and others and this is without a doubt my favorite. My 5-year old rated it as such "5 fingers plus one thumb on the other hand so it gets 6 stars!" :) It was incredibly easy to make. I used my bread machine and set it to the dough cycle. I used a pizza cutter to cut the wedges and placed the rolls on parchment-lined cookie sheets. IMPORTANT NOTE: I have to believe this baking temp of 400 is incorrect. I took the advice of other reviewers and lowered my temp to 350. My rolls were perfectly golden brown in exactly 9 minutes. I brushed the tops with melted butter as suggested and these are absolutely heavenly. I'm not even sure if I'll ever bother with another roll recipe after this. They're so pretty and so tasty, unbelievable. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is without a doubt a keeper. I've already printed it out and put it in my 3-ring binder...only the best recipes go in there! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
While home for the holidays, the family requested I make crescent rolls for Christmas dinner, which I had not made before. This recipe was incredibly easy and tasty. I made 30 rolls for 5 people; none of the rolls actually lasted to dinner. Fresh out of the oven, brushed with butter they were amazing. Technique notes: I made the dough the night before and let it rise overnight. I then proceeded and let the rolls rise for 2-3 hours (this can even be longer as I discovered with a batch of cinnamon rolls I made from this base recipe as well). My step mom's oven must run pretty hot; on 350 F, 10 minutes nearly burned them (caught them in the nick of time). Keep a close eye on your first batch and I agree with shooting low with the temperature. Makes a nice not too sweet cinnamon roll dough too; I'll add some lemon zest to it next time for dessert applications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe, that I have been making for the last two years. As other bakers have suggested, I have decreased the baking time on this recipe. I baked my crescents at 350 for 12 minutes, and have found that they still are more brown on the bottom, than top, but at least they are not burnt (like the last two times I have attempted THIS recipe). I gave this five stars, first of all because even though I burnt them the last two times I have made them, everyone still ate them, (they just peeled off the bottoms) and still said they were delicious!! Thank you Mike A. for sharing these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are great tasting and easy, my only problem is that I had to lower the oven temperature or the bottoms were burnt. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was dubious at first because that is a LOT of yeast in a little bit of water, but I committed myself not to change things (this time!) The recipe didn't say how long to knead, so I chose around 8 minutes in the kitchenaid mixer. I punched down twice and then rolled them. I rolled them out on wax paper which not only kept my counter clean, but ended up using a lot less flour (I just added a bit to the rolling pin). These were light and just a bit sweet. (I ate 3 when they came out of the oven!!) This made up the bulk of what I ate on Thanksgiving! Delicious, a keeper and super easy. Even a beginnner can make magic with this recipe. Mmmmm, maybe I ought to start another batch. I bet they'd freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is a good dinner roll -- light and fluffy, but NOT a croissant! I brushed egg on the rolls before putting them in the oven -- for a more golden color. I used canola oil for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHWEEZY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kirtland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I mixed the ingredients in my bread machine, however, I used Crisco for the shortening and it did NOT mix in with the dough..next time I will try melting it first. These rolls rose very nicely, however, they taste like they need more salt. I baked them at 350 in my convection oven for 12 minutes and they turned out perfectly. I will make them again and update this review using the melted shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I like that the dough is a bit heavier. It is still flaky and very good. I served them with honey butter and raspberry jam. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These are super! I wrap them around hot dogs and bake them in the oven, and they work SO well for that. They're good plain too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States