Golden Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Fantastic dough! I did modify it to use rapid rise yeast everytime I've made it. I really like it with a little oatmeal to replace some of the flour and half of the sugar replaced with honey. Can we say honey oat crescent rolls!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Used this recipe in my bread maker turned wonderfully! I only had one envelope of yeast and they still made HUGE crescents! I made them in to garlic herb crescents by adding some oregano basil and one crushed clove garlic to the mix. Then made a mix of 4 cloves garlic, oregano, basil and parsley to 1/4 cup melted butter and brushed on top before putting them in the oven. They were a big hit at the potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These are SO GOOD, but I haven't made them in awhile, and was going to make them again today. Has anyone else noticed that the recipe calls for a stick of butter, but the instructions don't tell you when to add it? Does a whole stick of butter seem like a lot? I don't remember what I did about the butter last time I made these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
WONDERFUL recipe!! Best dinner rolls I've ever made. And they freeze really well too! Better than any I've tried. I made half a recipe and froze half, but now I wish I'd made the whole recipe. I will next time for sure. These taste just like the small dinner rolls my friend used to get and gorge on. I'm thinking I'll keep this a secret from her or I'll be having company every day LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Wow! The taste and texture of this dough is amazing! Of course, instead of following the recipe perfectly I changed it a bit. I used 3 and 1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour (with added vital wheat gluten - 1 Tablespoon for each cup) and then half a cup of ground flax seed. I used my bread maker to mix the dough, then let them rise and baked in the oven. Wow! These are soooo yummy! I'm making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Be warned: this is a very rich dough recipe for rolls, not for anybody on a diet. I only used a small amount of butter to coat dough before rolling and skipped brushing them with melted butter. As is, this recipe calls for over 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar - this is verging on doughnut territory. Be warned! That being said, it's good. They will get stale quickly, put leftovers in freezer so they are fresh for the next time you want them. I only gave 4 stars as I think sugar could be cut back, they are noticeably sweet and may not go well with some dinners. Also, and more importantly, at 400, they burnt on the bottom (even on the middle rack of oven) after 5 minutes. Bake them at 350, I think you will be happier with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Really good rolls! I used the bread machine to prepare the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I've made lots of rolls and I love this recipe! They are easy to make. You can even make the dough in the bread machine. Just layer it according to the directions that came with your machine. Then roll and let rise. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are excellent! I substituted butter for the shortening and used my bread machine to make the dough; they rose up beautifully and were delicious. So easy to make--a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Amazing! I have gone with all white flour, I've also done 50/50 with whole wheat and again amazing results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States