Golden Coconut Almond Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Oh my gosh, these are SO good! At first I thought it was odd that the recipe didn't call for any eggs, but I didn't miss them in the finished product. I did make a few changes: I didn't have orange juice, so I used extra coconut milk, as some other reviewers suggested. I left out the orange zest since I didn't have that either, and I used some mashed fresh mango instead of most of the oil. (I can't really taste the mango in the finished product, but at least I know the muffins are healthier!) I made sure to toast both the almonds and grated coconut, and I also used about 3/4 cup almond flour and a few Tbsp. ground flax seed in place of some of the all-purpose flour. These are some of the best muffins I've ever had - the recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
i changed things up, used splenda instead of sugar and used coconut oil in place of olive oil. Also used whole wheat flour, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paradisebliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I thought these were pretty good! I substitubed lemon juice and lemon zest for the orange juice and orange zest. I also used chopped pecans instead of the almonds and canola oil instead of the olive oil. Mine needed an extra 5 minutes to cook but came out moist, tender and flavorful. Next time, I might add a spice or two like some of the other reviewers, but really, I thought they were just fine as is. The coconut milk I used is the thick kind that comes in a can. I'm wondering if some of the reviewers who thought these didn't have enough coconut flavor used the kind that comes box and is meant to be a beverage. I was looking for a good vegan breakfast bread to take to an event where no one else is vegan. I'll definitely be taking these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe, but a bit sweet for my taste. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and substitute almond extract for vanilla. I have used this recipe as a starting point for many different vegan muffins. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These were quite tasty; I followed the advice of other reviewers and made some alterations. I used lemon zest instead of orange, and only coconut milk. I also added coconut extract in addition to the vanilla, and substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose. I also used Splenda rather than sugar, and unsweetened applesauce rather than olive oil. I managed to lower the calories per muffin to jusst over 100, which is really great. Lemon and coconut flavours were great with the toasted almonds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Gorgeous muffins! Tender, not too sweet, even with sweetened flaked coconut. I subbed coconut oil for the olive oil. Coconut oil is solid at room temp, so I just nuked it for about 20 seconds. It added just the right amount of extra coconut flavor. I love the orange zest and the little crunch from the almonds and chew from the coconut. I topped the muffins with sliced almonds and then flaked coconut about half-way through baking time so it wouldn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Loved these! My kids and I enjoyed making them this morning too. We used sweetened coconut milk instead, substituted apple sauce for the oil and nixed the orange zest. They were very easy. We will be making them again! However, next time we will double the recipe, lol 12 muffins didn't last very long in my house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
oh ooooooooooooooooo im back my coconuts are so much better then this if u dont believe me ask hot grandma lol yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I used fresh coconut instead of the packaged (shredded) kind, as well as adding fresh ginger and doubling the salt and vanilla as another reviewer had recommended. These came out moist and delicious! The fresh coconut required cooking them a bit longer (about 5 minutes) but that also might just have been my oven. Just test with a toothpick to make sure they are properly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Auld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These were AMAZING.. but with a few alterations. I know this is technically a different recipe then, but i always enjoy pointers in the review section. First, i added 1 cup coconut milk and no orange juice, and substituted lemon zest for orange. Make sure to add the sugar to the milk mixture so that it is fully mixed through. Also, with the advice of another review, i added 1/2 tsp cardamom and a generous dash of ginger. I also did a teaspoon of coconut extract, 1/2 tsp of almond extract and a dash of vanilla. DO toast the coconut and almonds, it makes all the difference. And, for my healthier preferences, i substituted one cup of whole wheat pastry flour for one cup of the all purpose flour and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the olive oil... i felt the olive oil made the texture extremely heavy. Mix to BARELY moist, and these are absolutely delectable. The best part is that they are Vegan-friendly for my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States