Golden Coconut Almond Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Gorgeous muffins! Tender, not too sweet, even with sweetened flaked coconut. I subbed coconut oil for the olive oil. Coconut oil is solid at room temp, so I just nuked it for about 20 seconds. It added just the right amount of extra coconut flavor. I love the orange zest and the little crunch from the almonds and chew from the coconut. I topped the muffins with sliced almonds and then flaked coconut about half-way through baking time so it wouldn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
really delicious muffins. the only problem was that i made them a little too big (only 10), so that when i pulled them (gently) from the pan, the tops came off. next time i'll make them smaller so i come out with 12 and they are easier to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Great tasting muffins that are simple to make! I baked them in a *mini* muffin pan, and ended up with 24. Will definitely make these again. I used the sweetened baker's coconut--which I didn't bother toasting. Turned out fine, but I'll try toasting the next time around to see if it makes much of a difference or not. Didn't bother to toast the almonds either... Also used nonaluminum baking powder (Rumford's), and extra LIGHT virgin olive oil. The muffins don't have a "complex" flavor, but were well received by the family, nonetheless. (Including my children!) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Excellent taste & texture. Used canola oil instead of olive oil, worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Wonderfull taste, I didn't have coconut milk, so put shreded coconut in hot boiling water, they came a little "liquid" before baking, but then they were fine. And of course, my extra-virgin olive oil (i'm from italy) added some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Tasty! I didn't have olive oil so I just used canola oil. Other than that, I followed the recipe and they turned out moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
this is by far the best coconut muffin recipe i have ever tried...I made a second batch to freeze and keep on hand. i will pass this around for all of my coconut loving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I loved these muffins!!! However, I did change the recipe so that I loved them even more the next time. Less orange zest or omit altogether and added a bit more coconut extract...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
oh ooooooooooooooooo im back my coconuts are so much better then this if u dont believe me ask hot grandma lol yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Loved these! My kids and I enjoyed making them this morning too. We used sweetened coconut milk instead, substituted apple sauce for the oil and nixed the orange zest. They were very easy. We will be making them again! However, next time we will double the recipe, lol 12 muffins didn't last very long in my house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States