Golden Coconut Almond Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Gorgeous muffins! Tender, not too sweet, even with sweetened flaked coconut. I subbed coconut oil for the olive oil. Coconut oil is solid at room temp, so I just nuked it for about 20 seconds. It added just the right amount of extra coconut flavor. I love the orange zest and the little crunch from the almonds and chew from the coconut. I topped the muffins with sliced almonds and then flaked coconut about half-way through baking time so it wouldn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These were AMAZING.. but with a few alterations. I know this is technically a different recipe then, but i always enjoy pointers in the review section. First, i added 1 cup coconut milk and no orange juice, and substituted lemon zest for orange. Make sure to add the sugar to the milk mixture so that it is fully mixed through. Also, with the advice of another review, i added 1/2 tsp cardamom and a generous dash of ginger. I also did a teaspoon of coconut extract, 1/2 tsp of almond extract and a dash of vanilla. DO toast the coconut and almonds, it makes all the difference. And, for my healthier preferences, i substituted one cup of whole wheat pastry flour for one cup of the all purpose flour and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the olive oil... i felt the olive oil made the texture extremely heavy. Mix to BARELY moist, and these are absolutely delectable. The best part is that they are Vegan-friendly for my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This recipe has potential but needs help. First, double the salt and the vanilla. Then add 1/2t. cardamom and 1T fresh minced ginger to the mix. Finally make sure you toast the almonds and the coconut. This is just plain essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Tasty and moist but needs either some spices or coconut extract for a more intense coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These muffins are very good ! The only change I made was I used 1/2 tsp . of coconut extract and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I'll be making these regularly. Thanks for a great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Not that great. I thought the flavors sounded interesting, but it ended up tasting kinda dried out. Should there be an egg or something in the batter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Great tasting muffins that are simple to make! I baked them in a *mini* muffin pan, and ended up with 24. Will definitely make these again. I used the sweetened baker's coconut--which I didn't bother toasting. Turned out fine, but I'll try toasting the next time around to see if it makes much of a difference or not. Didn't bother to toast the almonds either... Also used nonaluminum baking powder (Rumford's), and extra LIGHT virgin olive oil. The muffins don't have a "complex" flavor, but were well received by the family, nonetheless. (Including my children!) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Loved these! My kids and I enjoyed making them this morning too. We used sweetened coconut milk instead, substituted apple sauce for the oil and nixed the orange zest. They were very easy. We will be making them again! However, next time we will double the recipe, lol 12 muffins didn't last very long in my house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I loved these muffins!!! However, I did change the recipe so that I loved them even more the next time. Less orange zest or omit altogether and added a bit more coconut extract...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
oh ooooooooooooooooo im back my coconuts are so much better then this if u dont believe me ask hot grandma lol yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States