Golden Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Two stars, and that's only for their appearance and the way they smelled while baking. If only they tasted as good as they looked and smelled! VERY disappointing! They were very floury, kind of doughy tasting, and VERY bland, even with the spicy brown mustard and Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good, even better with a bit more butter and seasonings to make it really pop....nice basic starting point recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennainWashington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Easy to put together and came out fine. I used stone ground mustard in this and would liked to have used a little more of it and the hot sauce. There was plenty of cheese, but the biscuits had that floury, gummy taste. Upon reheating for dinners later I didn't notice the flour taste but they still seemed a bit pasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made for the Recipe Group. Slightly bland in flavor but I loved the hint of tang from the mustard! I used a VERY coarse grain mustard in mine and though it looked like a TON of cheese, it barely came through. I was able to get 24 mini muffins and 5 regular size muffins out of this. Made my own buttermilk with 2% milk and vinegar and used habenero tabasco for the hot pepper sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 29, October '11 I made a full recipe and it made 12 regular size muffins and 12 mini muffins - way more than I needed! I shared them with the neighbors. I did not use liners, just sprayed the pans and the muffins popped out nicely. We enjoyed them best right out of the oven, warm with Red and Green Christmas Jalapeño Jelly from this site. We thought they had a lot more flavor while they were warm, but not so much once they cooled. Once cooled they became much more dense. They next time I would up the spicy brown mustard and add a little more hot sauce. My suggestions is: very good right out of the oven, so plan on eating them all in one setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made half of this recipe for Recipe Group, and it yielded 6 little muffins that rose beautifully and had nice high domes. Although pretty to look at, we thought they really lacked flavor. I couldn’t even detect the Dijon mustard I used and would triple it next time. Here’s a little tip: to halve an egg, beat it and use two tablespoons. Then I used some of the leftover egg to brush on the muffins before baking, which gave them a very nice sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made these for Recipe Group: 11/03/2011. I thought they didn't have much flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, but I made a mock buttermilk and used low-fat dairy products. However, the main problem was I expected them to have more of a cheese flavor. I sprinkled some extra on top before baking, which did help. They are moist, straight out of the oven, and good warm with some butter. Later though, they just tasted kind of dry and still rather bland despite the butter, cheese, and eggs in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Recipe Group selection 10/29/11. I used an extra sharp white cheddar because I had it on hand and that along with the Grey Poupon mustard (which I doubled) made very flavorful but nice and light muffins. They did, however, stick badly to the muffin cups and were partially wasted. Thanks, Mae.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was the recipe group selection for October 29, 2011. I followed the recipe exactly as written and found the muffin to be wonderfully light and tender. I wish it had more of a cheesy flavor however. But having said that, I thought this was a nice basic muffin that could be modified easily to suit your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Recipe Group Selection - I re-calculated for 6 servings and made into mini-muffins. I made a couple of changes: I substituted 1/2 t. of dry powdered mustard and 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of pepper sauce because I did not have the other ingredients in the pantry. I lined my mini-tins with muffin liners and lightly sprayed with cooking oil - no problem with sticking. Right out of the oven, these little jewels melt in your mouth. I sprinkled cheddar cheese on top before I baked for 10 minutes. Yield was 28 mini-muffins. Will be serving with Cheese Chicken Chowder and side salad. Thanks Ms. Keller for sharing your delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States