Golden Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is one of those recipes that I never would have found had it not been for the review section on this website. I saw Naples' review yesterday and decided I had to try these. I usually just stick with a boxed cake mix after trying a few scratch cake recipes that just didn't turn out. This one also calls for almond extract- my favorite flavor. The dough reminds me of a wetter Spritz cookie batter. And these are definitely light and almost sponge-like instead of dense. I was able to get 24 mini and 9 larger cupcakes out of this recipe with a little left in the bowl for me to lick clean. Will definitely use this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Where has this recipe been all of my life?! Delicious and thick. My new favorite cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I added some fresh cherries that I had boiled out and added a bit of sugar to and WOW it became an amazing cherry cake! I love the thick rich batters and this one was amazing, and since my son can't have much dairy I used an equivalent amount (1/2 cup) of the cherry juice instead of the milk. Still came out quite amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wondermommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent. A couple of minor flaws, however. (Let's get that over with first, then let's talk about how good these are) First, the recipe calls for 4 egg yolks and 1 egg white. Since they're all beaten together it would make more sense to read, "1 egg and 3 egg yolks." Second, unless, perhaps, you're using a mini muffin pan, there's no way these would be done in 15 minutes - 22-25 min. is more like it. Check them at 20 min. if you must, but be aware that if you check them too soon you risk them falling, or caving in on you! Now, for the good part. There are just so many ways you can describe a cake and after awhile it all sounds the same. Yes, these are MOIST. Yes, they are pleasantly SWEET as well as LIGHT and FLUFFY, not heavy and dense as I saw them described, unless you didn't beat the batter properly or are comparing them to a cake mix. Interestingly, they taste kind of like a sugar cookie and they even have a crackly, somewhat crispy top like one too. The almond flavor is noticeable, but pleasantly so. But how to distinguish these from a million other cupcakes described the same way?... How 'bout this - I ate two of them hot, right out of the oven. Knowing they're not at their best that way, they have to be plenty darn good to eat a second one the same way! And tho' I vowed not to, I had a third right after I frosted them (with a vanilla buttercream - take your pick from any of the wonderful recipes on this site). Now that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made these cupcakes for my sons birthday and they are wonderful! I did find they are denser, more like pound cake, which my family really enjoys. I made a cherry buttercream frosting and they were outstanding! I loved the slightly crunchy sugar tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This recipe reminded me of my grandma she made cakes that were just like this.I went a little heaver on the almond but it was really nice and i used the frosting thanks Gale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was wonderful. Just what I have been looking for to try to replicate the ones my grandmother used to make. Gale, I would love it if you could point us in the right direction for a good vanilla boiled icing recipe with a clear procedure. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Yummy! These have a heavier texture than cupcakes, but are so delicious. I love the addition of almond extract, really adds a great flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midear
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this cake with a marshmellow frosting and it was pretty good... I ate so much my belly hurts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Extraordinary! I didn't expect it to be this good! a tad too sweet but very nice texture. I had to increase the milk more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States