Golden Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent. A couple of minor flaws, however. (Let's get that over with first, then let's talk about how good these are) First, the recipe calls for 4 egg yolks and 1 egg white. Since they're all beaten together it would make more sense to read, "1 egg and 3 egg yolks." Second, unless, perhaps, you're using a mini muffin pan, there's no way these would be done in 15 minutes - 22-25 min. is more like it. Check them at 20 min. if you must, but be aware that if you check them too soon you risk them falling, or caving in on you! Now, for the good part. There are just so many ways you can describe a cake and after awhile it all sounds the same. Yes, these are MOIST. Yes, they are pleasantly SWEET as well as LIGHT and FLUFFY, not heavy and dense as I saw them described, unless you didn't beat the batter properly or are comparing them to a cake mix. Interestingly, they taste kind of like a sugar cookie and they even have a crackly, somewhat crispy top like one too. The almond flavor is noticeable, but pleasantly so. But how to distinguish these from a million other cupcakes described the same way?... How 'bout this - I ate two of them hot, right out of the oven. Knowing they're not at their best that way, they have to be plenty darn good to eat a second one the same way! And tho' I vowed not to, I had a third right after I frosted them (with a vanilla buttercream - take your pick from any of the wonderful recipes on this site). Now that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is one of those recipes that I never would have found had it not been for the review section on this website. I saw Naples' review yesterday and decided I had to try these. I usually just stick with a boxed cake mix after trying a few scratch cake recipes that just didn't turn out. This one also calls for almond extract- my favorite flavor. The dough reminds me of a wetter Spritz cookie batter. And these are definitely light and almost sponge-like instead of dense. I was able to get 24 mini and 9 larger cupcakes out of this recipe with a little left in the bowl for me to lick clean. Will definitely use this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I used 2 tsp. of vanilla instead of using almond extract. I also used all room temperature ingredients. The recipe was easy as cupcake recipes go, and these didnt taste bad. The draw back is that the tops get hard and taste like sugar cookies and the center is chewy. Again, they didnt taste bad at all, its just the hard exterior and chewy interior. If you like that, then you will like this recipe. For my purposes, I am still on the hunt for the best vanilla cupcake that is moist throughout, with great vanilla flavor. This wasnt it. If anyone has one, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was wonderful. Just what I have been looking for to try to replicate the ones my grandmother used to make. Gale, I would love it if you could point us in the right direction for a good vanilla boiled icing recipe with a clear procedure. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
The first day I made these they were great. As someone else stated, by the second day the tops had hardened like sugar cookies. Not the worst thing that could happen, they still tasted really good, I probably just wouldn't make these to bring anywhere. As for my family, they loved them. My mom ate them plain for 3 days, the rest I frosted with a strawberry cream cheese frosting, topped with fresh strawberries. Still really good, just not the best yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These cupcakes were somewhat dry and lacked taste. Followed recipe exactly, only baked for 16 min. I don't think they were over done. The milky way frosting did help, don't think I will make them again. To many other cake recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made these cupcakes for my sons birthday and they are wonderful! I did find they are denser, more like pound cake, which my family really enjoys. I made a cherry buttercream frosting and they were outstanding! I loved the slightly crunchy sugar tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Where has this recipe been all of my life?! Delicious and thick. My new favorite cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Yes, heavier texture and sugary sweet -- these probably could last in a cookie jar a good long time. (Perhaps why it's persisted since the Twenties?). Timing for the cooking may be way off for the same reason. My husband cooked this for 30 minutes to be done as cupcakes -- It kinda crystalized the outer dome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was good but a little dry, maybe more milk would help (don't want to make it too heavy by adding more butter). I used 3 thawed egg yolks and one "fresh" egg. (Note: frozen egg yolks are like jelly, they won't liquify any more, don't heat them!) The cake had a great flavor. I love almond extract so I may add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States