Golden Beet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vic_the_chic
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Took this to the office. Was SURE that No One would touch it. Beet bread!?!? Are you serious?!?!? I can not believe that #1 everyone tried it #2 no one hated it. Don't know what turbinado sugar is & I was running low on agave so used only a 1/2 cup of that. Used red beets. Omitted walnuts. This is a great recipe to use on all those leftover CSA beets. I mean like what can I do with beets that I get every week! THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charris
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of leaving out the walnuts due to allergy. There was a definite beet taste. We'll eat it but I don't think I'll bother with making it again. Maybe I should have added cinnamon or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I happened to have 3 leftover golden beets and didn't know what to do with them since I do not care for the taste. This recipe was a great way to use them! The bread tastes like beets but is yummy! I added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1 tsp vanilla for some flavor. I also added the water from cooking the beets to the blender to make the mixture smooth, not have to add water later, and retain the nutrients lost from cooking. My 18-month-old daughter also approves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
The flavor of this was fine, but nothing spectacular. I did add a little almond extract, some cinnamon and nutmeg, and if I make this again, will increase those. This recipe will be good to have on hand if there is a bumper crop of beets, but nothing to go out of your way for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It turned out great. Moist, nice golden color. Different but yummy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is good. I like the taste of beets, but their flavor is pretty much lost in this, so I think even non-beet fans would like it. I used purple beets since that's what I had. I also used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup honey since I did not have turbinado sugar. I omitted the nuts. I wish I had checked the bread at 50 minutes b/c it burned on the edges a bit at 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Since we don't get golden beets here, I used the purple kind. I used only whole wheat flour, and subbed honey for the sugar. I baked it in a pie pan, and it only took 30 minutes! My family finished this in no time! When (if) golden beets ever become available here, I know I'll have to try this recipe with them! Until then, I'll make this with the purple beets again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States