Gold and Silver Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I love this recipe!I have just got a new recipe box for christmas, and this is the first recipe in it!This recipe deserves a five, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this for my mother's 85th birthday. It's a BIG cake, but a great choice for a special occasion! The only suggestion I would make would be to add a little yellow food coloring to the "gold" layers. Mine didn't come out very yellow. I used a whip cream type frosting and it was wonderful! Everyone LOVED it! It is a very magestic creation. Definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a delightful cake. I agree it's a HUGE cake! I felt like I was building the Eiffel tower or something. It would make a great choice for a large family gathering or some other celebration. I agree, the the color differential wasn't obvious. Using yellow food coloring to accentuate the "gold" would be a great idea. Lovely cake. I had no trouble working with it-other than worrying how I was going to cover it with a normal cake cover. I ended up using foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I thought this was a very lovely cake. It tasted great and the layers were nice and even. Only complaint was that the gold cake was barely yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
Really yummy, but HUGE! Needs to be in at least 9" pans; the 8" ones I used made it the size and shape of a top hat! A very rich cake. Lovely with a frosting of cream (~ 1 pint) whipped with 1 tablespoon brown sugar or treacle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Quite nice, I took the two halves as two separate cakes to a shared lunch and they didn't last long. The cakes do end up quite similar in colour so add colouring if you want a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordyne Dauberman
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I have made this cake a few times. It is really good and basic. Recently I made this cake for my brother's birthday, and added peanut butter filling, and vanilla pudding. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyne Dauberman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
"It's great"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Maybe it was just me, but I followed this recipes to a T. The mix wouldnt pour so I added more milk (making it 1 cup for each of the batters instead of 2/3 cup). Also, the four layers were short and too much. I recommend just making two layers..putting all of the gold in one and all the silver in another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I didn't like this one very much. I tried making it twice and it just didn't turn out. Very dry. This could be my fault. I don't have a flour sifter, so I just fluff the flour in a bowl with a fork for 10 minuites or so. Maybe I'll try it again when I get a sifter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States