Gold and Silver Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
Really yummy, but HUGE! Needs to be in at least 9" pans; the 8" ones I used made it the size and shape of a top hat! A very rich cake. Lovely with a frosting of cream (~ 1 pint) whipped with 1 tablespoon brown sugar or treacle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I thought this was a very lovely cake. It tasted great and the layers were nice and even. Only complaint was that the gold cake was barely yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I love this recipe!I have just got a new recipe box for christmas, and this is the first recipe in it!This recipe deserves a five, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this for my mother's 85th birthday. It's a BIG cake, but a great choice for a special occasion! The only suggestion I would make would be to add a little yellow food coloring to the "gold" layers. Mine didn't come out very yellow. I used a whip cream type frosting and it was wonderful! Everyone LOVED it! It is a very magestic creation. Definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a delightful cake. I agree it's a HUGE cake! I felt like I was building the Eiffel tower or something. It would make a great choice for a large family gathering or some other celebration. I agree, the the color differential wasn't obvious. Using yellow food coloring to accentuate the "gold" would be a great idea. Lovely cake. I had no trouble working with it-other than worrying how I was going to cover it with a normal cake cover. I ended up using foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
"It's great"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Quite nice, I took the two halves as two separate cakes to a shared lunch and they didn't last long. The cakes do end up quite similar in colour so add colouring if you want a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordyne
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I have made this cake a few times. It is really good and basic. Recently I made this cake for my brother's birthday, and added peanut butter filling, and vanilla pudding. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Maybe it was just me, but I followed this recipes to a T. The mix wouldnt pour so I added more milk (making it 1 cup for each of the batters instead of 2/3 cup). Also, the four layers were short and too much. I recommend just making two layers..putting all of the gold in one and all the silver in another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I didn't like this one very much. I tried making it twice and it just didn't turn out. Very dry. This could be my fault. I don't have a flour sifter, so I just fluff the flour in a bowl with a fork for 10 minuites or so. Maybe I'll try it again when I get a sifter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States