Gold Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made the mistake of only making up half a batch of this...before I could get home the next day when I planned to serve it for dinner the kids and wife had eaten it all. I did get a taste of it though, was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This should be a good soup recipe. I made 1/2 batch but accidentially put in 4 tablespoon of honey (as per full recipe). So it turned out too sweet, we can only eat some of it with bagels. I added the "too sweet" leftover soup the next day onto peeled and cubed potatoes, carrot and mushrooms, wrapped them in foil and baked it in oven for 1 hour. It turned out great. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was bland, bland, BLAND. Way too much thyme, not much else taste. Won't make again. Thanks anyway. Sorry:((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is really good! I'm sure it tastes great as a soup with thick, crusty French bread and lots of cheese with it, but I made it and used it to cook beef tips in the crock-pot with. I just used regular white cooking wine as that's all I had on hand. I'm looking forward to getting more stuff when I buy groceries to have it as soup. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This soup was ok, but a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
two thumbs up!! the recipe is good, including my indonesian domestic helper, we both like it. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Best onion soup I've ever had & everyone that tries it agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I served this for a Christmas party for 23 people. Everyone loved it! The only thing I did differently was let it simmer on low on the stove all day, and instead of the shredded swiss, I just used 2 thin slices of it that I threw in before it was served. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I didn't like this. I cut way back on the thyme and the honey, but it all just tasted weird. The flavors didn't blend well at all. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This soup was pretty good. The sweetness was suprising, and I missed the beef broth. I will probably add that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States