Gold Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I only had 1 cup of wine left to add (hehehe...) but it didn't seem to be a problem. Also, we just added the cheese to the serving bowls so we could save the rest. Great recipe that is destined to become a staple in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is really good! I'm sure it tastes great as a soup with thick, crusty French bread and lots of cheese with it, but I made it and used it to cook beef tips in the crock-pot with. I just used regular white cooking wine as that's all I had on hand. I'm looking forward to getting more stuff when I buy groceries to have it as soup. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
two thumbs up!! the recipe is good, including my indonesian domestic helper, we both like it. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Best onion soup I've ever had & everyone that tries it agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I served this for a Christmas party for 23 people. Everyone loved it! The only thing I did differently was let it simmer on low on the stove all day, and instead of the shredded swiss, I just used 2 thin slices of it that I threw in before it was served. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I really don't understand how anyone could think this was bland!! The only thing I changed was using 4 cups vegetable broth and 4 cups water. It was soooo goood! Finally a vegetarian onion soup from scratch that is perfected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I can't get enough of this soup. I LOVE IT! Just the way it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariSwaim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Don't rush this one! It is fantastic when it's simmered the full time. However, I tried it after only 10 minutes and it was so horrible I almost threw it away. Very glad I didn't because I loved it once the full time had passed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I like the sound of this and can imagine how it would taste. Just one comment I would use vegetable boullion for this recipe. If you use beef broth the recipe isn't veggie. Secondly for the administrators: By asking for an American zip code you eliminate all non Americans from using and reviewing. Not everyone who cooks lives in the States.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this recipe following the directions almost to the letter except I substituted the dry white wine for 1 cup rice vinegar and 1/2 cup vegetable stock, substituted 1 cup butter for 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup olive oil, increased the amount of Swiss cheese to 1 and 3/4 cups (and used Baby Swiss), doubled the thyme, and added some baby Portabella mushrooms when the liquid was coming to a boil. I didn't need to let it simmer for more than 45mins to get the desired consistency. My husband really liked it, and it definitely reminded me of traditional French onion soup. My only complaint was that the picture was misleading and made it look like a creamer soup. Since I was in a bit of a mood for creamy soup, I added a dollop of 2% Greek yogurt to my serving (you could also use sour cream though it's not as healthy) and it gave the soup a nice smooth consistency. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States