Gold Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I served this for a Christmas party for 23 people. Everyone loved it! The only thing I did differently was let it simmer on low on the stove all day, and instead of the shredded swiss, I just used 2 thin slices of it that I threw in before it was served. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I really don't understand how anyone could think this was bland!! The only thing I changed was using 4 cups vegetable broth and 4 cups water. It was soooo goood! Finally a vegetarian onion soup from scratch that is perfected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Didn't like this recipe at all. Too much thyme and too much wine. Maybe it was because I made it in a larger batch size, but this soup just did not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This should be a good soup recipe. I made 1/2 batch but accidentially put in 4 tablespoon of honey (as per full recipe). So it turned out too sweet, we can only eat some of it with bagels. I added the "too sweet" leftover soup the next day onto peeled and cubed potatoes, carrot and mushrooms, wrapped them in foil and baked it in oven for 1 hour. It turned out great. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made the mistake of only making up half a batch of this...before I could get home the next day when I planned to serve it for dinner the kids and wife had eaten it all. I did get a taste of it though, was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ja Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Best onion soup I've ever had & everyone that tries it agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this recipe following the directions almost to the letter except I substituted the dry white wine for 1 cup rice vinegar and 1/2 cup vegetable stock, substituted 1 cup butter for 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup olive oil, increased the amount of Swiss cheese to 1 and 3/4 cups (and used Baby Swiss), doubled the thyme, and added some baby Portabella mushrooms when the liquid was coming to a boil. I didn't need to let it simmer for more than 45mins to get the desired consistency. My husband really liked it, and it definitely reminded me of traditional French onion soup. My only complaint was that the picture was misleading and made it look like a creamer soup. Since I was in a bit of a mood for creamy soup, I added a dollop of 2% Greek yogurt to my serving (you could also use sour cream though it's not as healthy) and it gave the soup a nice smooth consistency. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I can't get enough of this soup. I LOVE IT! Just the way it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariSwaim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I didn't like this. I cut way back on the thyme and the honey, but it all just tasted weird. The flavors didn't blend well at all. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I like the sound of this and can imagine how it would taste. Just one comment I would use vegetable boullion for this recipe. If you use beef broth the recipe isn't veggie. Secondly for the administrators: By asking for an American zip code you eliminate all non Americans from using and reviewing. Not everyone who cooks lives in the States.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States