Gold Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made the mistake of only making up half a batch of this...before I could get home the next day when I planned to serve it for dinner the kids and wife had eaten it all. I did get a taste of it though, was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ja Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This should be a good soup recipe. I made 1/2 batch but accidentially put in 4 tablespoon of honey (as per full recipe). So it turned out too sweet, we can only eat some of it with bagels. I added the "too sweet" leftover soup the next day onto peeled and cubed potatoes, carrot and mushrooms, wrapped them in foil and baked it in oven for 1 hour. It turned out great. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was bland, bland, BLAND. Way too much thyme, not much else taste. Won't make again. Thanks anyway. Sorry:((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is really good! I'm sure it tastes great as a soup with thick, crusty French bread and lots of cheese with it, but I made it and used it to cook beef tips in the crock-pot with. I just used regular white cooking wine as that's all I had on hand. I'm looking forward to getting more stuff when I buy groceries to have it as soup. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This soup was ok, but a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
two thumbs up!! the recipe is good, including my indonesian domestic helper, we both like it. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Best onion soup I've ever had & everyone that tries it agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I served this for a Christmas party for 23 people. Everyone loved it! The only thing I did differently was let it simmer on low on the stove all day, and instead of the shredded swiss, I just used 2 thin slices of it that I threw in before it was served. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I didn't like this. I cut way back on the thyme and the honey, but it all just tasted weird. The flavors didn't blend well at all. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This soup was pretty good. The sweetness was suprising, and I missed the beef broth. I will probably add that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States