Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Onceuponabite
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I used cake flour and beat the heck out of the egg and butter (per previous reviews suggested). The resulting cake was light delicate and so so moist. I also added Myer lemon zest and brushed the finished hot cake with a lemon sugar syrup to let it soak in and be even more lemony. I can foresee this as a great base to be all kinds of different flavored cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good use for leftover yolks when making angel food cake. Next time I will use lemon extract and lemon frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe for using up egg yolks after making a pavlova. I baked this is in a ring pan (similar to picture) used gluten free flour, topped finished cake with lemon icing and served with cream and ice-cream. Made a great gluten free desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a easy great recipe...my daughter who is nine used this as her first make alone cake...the only thing I would alter is the amount of sugar...but there were no complaints from the family...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy! Excellent way to use up the yolks after making an Angel Food Cake. I baked this in a bundt pan and it took about 55 minutes till it was done! PERFECT!!! I rarely ice or frost my cakes, and this one only needed a sprinkle of powdered sugar to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great cake! For those who had trouble with it being dense and not rising, maybe you didn't beat the butter and eggs long enough. I always let my Kitchenaid at them for almost 5 minutes. It rose so high it overflowed the pans. Will make again (often) in a 13x9 pan next time. Thanks for a great way to use the egg yolks when I make angel food-which is often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
GREAT use for leftover egg yolks (after making miragne for Pavlova). Simple base for additional flavours (lemon-sugar drizzle; raspberry jam filling; whipped cream and fresh strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Perfect texture and basic flavor. Bake together with Favorite Strawberry or Angel Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Turned out perfectly. If it's too dense for some people it could be because there are too many yolks in 1 cup. I used 5 yolks only, as that's what I had left over from making a pavlova (Australian meringue cake with whipped cream and fruit decoration - I used mango and raspberries). I added a teaspoon of almond essence and about half a cup of toasted flaked almonds, then I decorated the top surface, BEFORE baking, with more toasted flaked almonds and sugar, to make a crusty topping. Consequently, I didn't have to make a frosting of any kind and the cake looks awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States