Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good use for leftover yolks when making angel food cake. Next time I will use lemon extract and lemon frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe for using up egg yolks after making a pavlova. I baked this is in a ring pan (similar to picture) used gluten free flour, topped finished cake with lemon icing and served with cream and ice-cream. Made a great gluten free desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a easy great recipe...my daughter who is nine used this as her first make alone cake...the only thing I would alter is the amount of sugar...but there were no complaints from the family...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yummy! Excellent way to use up the yolks after making an Angel Food Cake. I baked this in a bundt pan and it took about 55 minutes till it was done! PERFECT!!! I rarely ice or frost my cakes, and this one only needed a sprinkle of powdered sugar to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great cake! For those who had trouble with it being dense and not rising, maybe you didn't beat the butter and eggs long enough. I always let my Kitchenaid at them for almost 5 minutes. It rose so high it overflowed the pans. Will make again (often) in a 13x9 pan next time. Thanks for a great way to use the egg yolks when I make angel food-which is often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
GREAT use for leftover egg yolks (after making miragne for Pavlova). Simple base for additional flavours (lemon-sugar drizzle; raspberry jam filling; whipped cream and fresh strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Perfect texture and basic flavor. Bake together with Favorite Strawberry or Angel Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Turned out perfectly. If it's too dense for some people it could be because there are too many yolks in 1 cup. I used 5 yolks only, as that's what I had left over from making a pavlova (Australian meringue cake with whipped cream and fruit decoration - I used mango and raspberries). I added a teaspoon of almond essence and about half a cup of toasted flaked almonds, then I decorated the top surface, BEFORE baking, with more toasted flaked almonds and sugar, to make a crusty topping. Consequently, I didn't have to make a frosting of any kind and the cake looks awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This cake is good, but certainly not worth all the eggs unless you have the egg yolks from something else. Good flavor and texture, I think. I ate it without any frosting. It was good with fresh sliced strawberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States