Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Very authentic tasting (just like the restaurants!). Perfect amount of spices - mild, just as I like it! I used 1 tsp. salt, then added about 1/4 tsp. when it was finished cooking. I didn't have ginger paste, so I used about 2 tsp. fresh, chopped. I used a lot more cilantro - 1/2 of a bunch. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This dish is excellent with a few changes. Note that this recipe has no liquids which will becomes too dry. I followed the recipe up to the adding of the potatoes and seasoning but instead of cooking 5-7 minutes, I put it in my crock-pot with 1/2 cup vegetable broth and a can of stewed tomatoes (because I didn't have diced tomatoes). Cooked on high for 2 1/2 hours (after the first 30 minutes I added the Cauliflower stirring to saturate with the spices. I added a little more milk (maybe 1/4 cup or less) after 2 hrs and stirred. The cooking time will depend on how big you cut the potatoes, I cubed them about 1-2" wide. I chose the crock-pot method because I was going to be busy preparing the Chicken Tikka Masala to serve with it. This turned out delicious!!! my picky teenager loved both dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I made this according to the directions, but it seemed so dry... I added a small can of coconut milk and a diced tomatoe at the end of the cook time, and then simmered an additional 8 minutes or so. The result was delicious! I think the tomatoe and coconut milk should really be included in the recipe. Also, I used curry and a small amount of cumin instead of tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
The lady in last review was correct, by adding the coconut milk and tomatoes it gave the dish more taste and prevented it from being dry. This is a must do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Wonderful! Just like the aloo gobi at my favorite restaraunt. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I liked this recipe a lot. It is dry, but I think it is supposed to be that way, because youre supposed to eat it with a dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This is an excellent recipe, very flavorful. I actually made a variation with the spices as listed using chick peas and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This had me worried when it was cooking, but it turned out fantastic! I added a tiny bit of water and a can of tomatoes to help it hold some moisture and I almost doubled the spices. I made it with the Easy Shrimp Curry recipe on this site and my boyfriend said that this is his new favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a very good recipe, probably better than I've had in a lot of Indian restaurants! I agree that it is too dry as shown, and I added about 1/2 cup of water and let the ingredients steam cook. I also had to let it cook about 10 minutes longer then the recipe said. But it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States