Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My husband loved this. He thought it was better than the Gobi Aloo from Whole Foods. I didn't have any garam masala so I used the "Easy Garam Masala" recipe on this website and made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe for gobi aloo. I doubled the spices because thats just how I am. Cook on with lid on and is shouldn't be dry. Add a little butter or extra oil at the end if it seems dry. I love this kind of food. I served with Saffron and Cilatro long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Just did not like the taste. The cooking time was wrong. It took 3x as long and I had to keep adding water as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe tasted delicious but the curry seemed very runny. I think the next time I make this recipe I will try to drain the tomatoes before adding them into the curry. Perhaps this is why those people who used fresh tomatoes had so much more success... Thank you, though, for the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We had an Indian style buffet and this was my favorite recipe. I added 1/4 cup of water to simmer the potatoes but followed the recipe otherwise. Even my cauliflower-hating husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I read a lot of reviews before I tried this dish, so I took the advice, doubling the spices and adding mustard seeds, an onion, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also substituted fresh ginger for the paste and curry powder for the garam masala (only because I had run out of the latter). It definitely took longer to cook than the recipe suggested, but that may have been because my potatoes and cauliflower chunks were on the large side (I don't think the recipe specified, so maybe the author cut small dice). Ultimately, my partner and I thought it was very tasty. He took the leftovers to a potluck, and I offer his report: "Everyone loved your curry -- it may have been one of the biggest hits at the potluck. Even got high compliments from a woman who used to own a restaurant and was a caterer. It all got eaten, which has never happened with my couscous dish." On a second go-around, I might add fresh or dried chilies (some cayenne, at least). I've never had aloo gobi with tomatoes, so I might try some vegetable broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
a bit too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this to a group of friends who all love Indian food and everyone loved it. I stayed completely with the receipe but did add a bit of water at the bottom with the potatoes as they cooked. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Took everyone's advice and kept water in the bottom, which worked well, although it did take much longer than stated. I nearly doubled all spices, as well as garlic and ginger. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
My family and I thought this was delicious. I added about 1/3 cup half and half like another reviewer, and also 1 can of diced tomatoes and the remainder of a bag of peas. Tasted great. The only change I would make would be to add the garam masala just about 5 minutes before it's done cooking, otherwise it makes the dish taste a little bitter. A little lemon juice can cure the bitterness, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States