Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
wasn't like the real deal. i just returned from india and this is NOT aloo gobi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Quite a bit of work for the result. Ok flavor but not good enough to try again. I'll continue searching for a better recipe of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe! I prepared this as a side dish with some curry chicken and it was a big hit. This is not a very spicy dish and I will likely add additional spices the next time I make it. I'm not a big cauliflower fan but the potato/cauliflower mix was very pleasant and the texture of this dish was a large part of what I liked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snave88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great combination of coking methods and spices, but I had to change it a little. I doubled the oil, added 1/4 of an onion (thin sliced), used two cloved garlic, 1/2 habanera, doubled the cumin, added 15 diced cherry tomatoes plus 1 tsp paste with 1/4 cup water, and omitted the cilantro (I did not want a South East Asian dish!). I reccomend sauteeing the garlic, onion, habanera, and ginger first until tender,m then adding the potatoes with all spices except garm masala. saute until potatoes are almost done, then stir in the cauliflower and tomatoes. after about 5 minutes, add the paste and water with the garam masala and smother until cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Tun

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Although I cook with minimal oil, I will have to say that this recipe requires more than 1 Tbsp as there is quite a lot of cauliflower. A couple of suggestions - cut the potatoes smaller than the cauliflower as they take longer to cook. Cover and cook over slow heat. Add cilantro after the vegetables have cooked and allow to heat through. This allows the fresh flavour to remain. Gobi Aloo is meant to be dry - it is not a curry, so pls don't follow other reviews of adding coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niloufer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I give this 4 stars for its versatility and for being a nice base recipe to play with. I made one variation that turned out really yummy (but not for those on low-fat diets!) - I added some tomato sauce to sauteed onions before adding potatoes and cauliflower and then some half-and-half at the end of the cooking time - this makes it more special-occasion fare I think. I also bumped up the spices to taste, including adding some garam masala. The toasted cumin seeds really do add a nice touch and makes your kitchen smell wonderful. One thing I noticed is that the potatoes take a long time to cook, so add them first and wait until they're nearly done before adding the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing this recipe - I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good! I added the recommended can of stewed tomatoes for liquid and it turned out great. Didn't have quite as much flavor as I thought it would, but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
this was a great recipe, very authentic Indian. I did add twice as much ginger, garlic, & cumin though, also a half an onion. I agree with the other reviews, leave out the coconut milk, it totally changes the recipe. I did boil the potatoes first, then added them to the spices with the cauliflower, also added a chopped tomatoe. it was great!! don't leave out the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. After reading all of the reviews I agreed that it wasn't suppose to have a curry such as a masala but I never thought it would be completely dry. I spent 3 weeks in India and this was one of my favorite dishes there but this recipe was no where near the dish I had while traveling. After I realized that it was completely dry I added a can of diced tomatoes which helped. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I really liked this dish even if I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower. I know Gobi Aloo isn't supposed to be saucy but I had a can of cubed tomatoes so that I could serve it on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States