Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good! I added the recommended can of stewed tomatoes for liquid and it turned out great. Didn't have quite as much flavor as I thought it would, but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
this was a great recipe, very authentic Indian. I did add twice as much ginger, garlic, & cumin though, also a half an onion. I agree with the other reviews, leave out the coconut milk, it totally changes the recipe. I did boil the potatoes first, then added them to the spices with the cauliflower, also added a chopped tomatoe. it was great!! don't leave out the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. After reading all of the reviews I agreed that it wasn't suppose to have a curry such as a masala but I never thought it would be completely dry. I spent 3 weeks in India and this was one of my favorite dishes there but this recipe was no where near the dish I had while traveling. After I realized that it was completely dry I added a can of diced tomatoes which helped. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I really liked this dish even if I'm not a huge fan of cauliflower. I know Gobi Aloo isn't supposed to be saucy but I had a can of cubed tomatoes so that I could serve it on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We really liked this recipe! A great way to use cauliflower. We added the stewed tomatoes and thought it worked well. Like the others have said, adding coconut milk doesn't make any sense at all and it's great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I doubled the spices, i may have tripled them. it was really good but it was still much drier than what i get at indian restaurants. I know it is not supposed to saucy but i've always gotten a little bit of sauce when i order it. I don't think coconut milk is the answer and I tried the water idea but it still wasn't what i wanted. I didn't have the canned tomato so i'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Not quite as good as my favorite Indian restaurant, but it was okay for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My husband loved this. He thought it was better than the Gobi Aloo from Whole Foods. I didn't have any garam masala so I used the "Easy Garam Masala" recipe on this website and made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe for gobi aloo. I doubled the spices because thats just how I am. Cook on with lid on and is shouldn't be dry. Add a little butter or extra oil at the end if it seems dry. I love this kind of food. I served with Saffron and Cilatro long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Just did not like the taste. The cooking time was wrong. It took 3x as long and I had to keep adding water as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States