Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I did like this recipe. But I agree with others it is a bit dry looking. But I didn't find that a bad thing neccesarily. It did seem a bit overspiced and a little bitter, so I added a large can of stewed plum tomatoes. I also added some chick peas to it at the end and served it with grilled haddock and quinoa. It was great. The next few times I made it, I waited until all the other spices were incorporated as directed, EXCEPT the ground cumin. I discover it's the amount of this that determines if the dish became bitter or not. Too much kills it. I also topped it with the cilantro, and a few fresh grean peas. Was restaurant worthy! Everyone loved it, and my son asked me to make it when he came home to visit . That's an ultimate compliment from my uber green organic eating son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I must have made several mistakes with this recipe. In hind site, my main mistake was not doing a trial run. My potato cubes must have been far too large, as they were rock hard after the given cooking time. After another half hour had past, I dashed to the computer in a panic to read your reviews. A few of you had also had this problem, so I followed your advice and starting adding a good splash of water with each periodic stir. In all, I would have added an extra cup of water over an additional half hour. But it still tasted so bland. Not knowing what else to do, I added a good shake of curry powder and then half a cup of cream. My family ate it, but didn’t comment one way or the other, which was a disappointment after all the time I had invested. Ah well . . . we all have recipes that beat us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I found this recipe a little bland, despite seasoning with a few generous sprinklings of salt at the end. I added water as needed to help the cooking process but ensured the final product was still quite dry. I didn't have any cilantro on hand but I think a good handful would have added a nice kick to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe is authentic. It is meant to be dry. You can really add flavor by allowing it to caramelize a bit. My 1 year old LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Agree that this was delicious, but also that you need to almost double the spice. I added red chiles too and chopped up a few of the whole canned tomatoes in my cupboard. It's delicious. I'll make this again but with more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We enjoyed this. I tweeked it just a bit by adding an onion to the spices and oil and cooking until translucent and adding about 2 cups of cubed eggplant with the potatoes and cauliflower. The cooking time was closer to 30 minutes to get the vegetables tender crisp. I added about 1/2 cup of water to keep them from burning. The result was the right consistency, not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I am only giving this 3 stars as it didn't really work for me. I am sure it is quite authentic, it just didn't suite my palette. I made as instructed (except followed one reviewers advice by adding a bit of water to help steam as I could tell it was going to be very dry.) It's very flavorful and good, but not really main course material. I guess that was my mistake. Still having a lot of fun trying all the various Indian dishes, thank you for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I attempted to make this tonight, with the things I had on hand. I had most things, but no ginger paste or cilantro. It was still delicious! Now a staple for this college aged vegan. A side note-this dish really isn't supposed to have a gravy/sauce when made traditionally, so just add small amounts of water as needed for steaming, and you'll still be very happy with the result :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this type of Indian dish is supposed to be dry. The solution is to make this as written, except for the cooking time, which is much to short, and eat it with chutney or raita, an Indian yoghurt dish. In most Indian dishes the salt is added at the end of the cooking period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delicious! I added a can of crushed tomatoes at the end (my fiance felt it was too dry-- though I like it both ways), and also added two dried chiles for a little extra kick. We also added some frozen peas, which isn't true to the dish, but was super tasty. I'll be making this again--- I love how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States