Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
made as written. delicious as is. thanks for the post shadzadi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Potatoes stuck to the pan and got mushy. Lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Absolutely loved this! Had it with Indian rice and vindaloo pork. A big hit in my household. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
YUM! Delicious! Pretty much followed the recipe as written, but I did need to add a splash of chicken stock a couple times to keep the potatoes from sticking to the bottom of the pan and burning. . .seriously, just a splash, not enough to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I used 4 potatoes, soaked in water for a few minutes to remove some of the starch. Added a can of drained garbanzo beans and two tomatoes about five minutes after the cauliflower. Eyeballed the spices and used some curry powder in place of the cumin and turmeric. Needed to cook 30 minutes total for the potatoes to be soft. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
It was kind-of bland. Even with a whole can of tomatoes, it seemed a little dry, and not enough of a PUNCH of flavors I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I didn't make this with potatoes as we are avoiding simple sugars. And because I didn't have cumin seeds, I used mustard seeds instead... Overall, I like the spices that go into this which results in a flavourful cauliflower dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I agree with Mark P. This dish is not intended to be a masala / gravy dish. I added mustard seeds with the cumin seeds, and up the spices across the board. I added a touch of water each time I stirred to keep the veggies sweating and added 5 minutes to the potatoes, and another 5 minutes with the gobi. I also added a diced fresh tomato toward the end, though not traditionally found in aloo gobi. I would definitely serve to guests with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My first indian dish and came out perfect! Just like I ate in restaurants in Toronto! I am so thrilled. I did add some water to it...but only change! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States