Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I've been looking for a cauliflower recipe that my family likes. It has become a part of our regular meal -- even if I'm not serving cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very good. I made it exactly as stated. I myself could use more spice, but for Grumpy's sake I am glad I didn't. He actually cleaned his portion right up! I would make this again and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was disappointed in the way this turned out and my hubby took one bite and said "I don't like it..." which is not the usual reaction I get from him. I did use a little water as suggested by one reviewer but the flavor was bland and boring. 50% more spice would have helped. I may try to redeem the leftovers by making a tomato curry and adding it when reheating...but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was excellent authentic Gobi Aloo. I added diced tomatoes and peas to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
There is a debate here about whether or not this needs a gravy. the first time I had allo gobi, some friends from the Punjab region of Pakistan made it - and it had a thick rich gravy, so I have adjusted this accordingly. I add 2/3 c cream and some water to coat the veggies - it helps distribute the spices to all surface area. then I cook it down until it is a thick, but not plentiful, gravy. I have also been known to add 2 handfuls of green peas just before serving (my kids like it better this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I made a few minor changes to this recipe, none worth mentioning other than that I finely diced a harabanaro pepper (without the placenta and seeds) and sauted it along with the ginger and garlic, which I doubled. Wonderful dish, will definately make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a very good recipe, probably better than I've had in a lot of Indian restaurants! I agree that it is too dry as shown, and I added about 1/2 cup of water and let the ingredients steam cook. I also had to let it cook about 10 minutes longer then the recipe said. But it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
mine came out very dry. i kept having to add more water which diluted the flavor quite a bit. my boyfriend still loved it but i was not so crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I've made this a couple times and it turns out pretty good. I like this recipe because it's not as involved as recipes for aloo gobi in my Indian cookbooks. What is with the coconut milk though? If you want traditional aloo gobi, stop taking one reviewer's suggestion and don't add coconut milk. It's not part of this dish, and if you add it, you're making something completely different, and most likely, something sweet. Mustard seeds are always a great addition and the more cilantro the better, but if you find that it's too dry, add a 1/2 cup of crushed tomatoes and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States